You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reflecting Inward - Thoughts on Fatherhood and Self-Actualization

in #psychology6 years ago

Congrats on the @curie . Well deserved . I read this post and we have a lot in common. Growing up I was the same , forfeiting grades to fit in more. My degree isn’t in business but I ended up in retail. I travelled Europe and have to be thankful of my experiences because of my job but now I’m stuck also. The money is too good to leave though so like you I waste 40 hours a week hating my job.A friend in the same job told me try and do some things you like during your job so I head to gym on my break and it has helped. I think daughters are harder to bond with in the early years. Don’t worry about it . You will be her world in a couple of years. Mammy won’t get a look in. As for the father and grandfather,m. I know I have accomplished way more than them in my career. They were labourers. Worked 9-5 and earned nothing. But something tells me they were happier than I am now So I am now changing the goalposts to what successful isn’t . My dad isn’t 80 now. He had a great life in the pub, music and sport and he was selfish like that putting his wife and kids . It grinds on me a lot which I will never let happen to mine . He was a good dad but he knows my mother raised us really. Typical Irish family in the 80s. 😂😂. He’s still a good dad in his own way.

Sort:  

But something tells me they were happier than I am now

If not happier, then at least more proud or more content or fulfilled.

I do a lot of reading at work myself, which I never get to do at home, so that’s my “gym”. Interesting how much overlap we have. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and reflections. Maybe we’ll both figure it all out one day 😅

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63572.52
ETH 3097.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88