Reflecting Inward - Thoughts on Fatherhood and Self-ActualizationsteemCreated with Sketch.

"Every generation was better than the one before." That's what I've been told about my father's side of the family. My great-grandfather was known as the meanest man in town. My grandfather was know for his withdrawn, private, and often angry nature. My own father struggled with his own resentments and temper, and now I am digging out the the final pieces of this legacy and attempting to free my son from whatever it is inside our genetic code that makes us this way. Or perhaps it's nurture and not nature? Either way, the responsibility is on me.

shadow.png

This journey is a large part of why I write these days. To reflect through writing. To preserve my thoughts. To share with friends and strangers alike in the hopes that my experiences might be of some use to another.

I've spent much of my life searching for meaning and purpose. I joined the Army partially as a solution to this problem. I quit four years later after discovering that it would not offer me the validation I sought. I knew what I was and was not doing at that job. I wasn't making a difference. I was just a cog in an enormous machine, grinding towards... towards what? Certainly nothing as noble as the fight against fascism like the Army of the 1940's. I came to the conclusion that nowadays the military is little more than a set of guardrails for the world and a jobs creation machine for the United States. Today, I volunteer as an EMT to try and fill the incredible hole I feel when it comes to answering the question: what value do I bring the world?

I guess I should back up a little and re-vector this suddenly out of control post. I wanted to finally get started on a thought that's been hanging around in my mind for quite some time now, brought out recently by a comment I left on one of @bengy's posts. Here was the comment:

Bengy said:

As I grow up in my own role as a father, I keep thinking about things that I would have wanted to have done differently when I was growing up under my parent's care. Nothing disasterous, but things I would have told my past self...

To which I replied:

Funny you mention that last bit... It's been the topic of a post I've been wanting to write for a couple months now but just don't know how to approach. Basically boils down to the fact that I want to help him discover his passion/purpose/meaning. Sometimes I feel like all I've ever really accomplished is making a small copy of myself. If I can at least get him to a point in his life where he feels like he is making a difference in the world, it'll justify my own existence as nothing more than a father.

So starting over again with the father thing... I like to think of it in terms of one of my favorite psychological theories: Maslow's hierarchy of needs. This is the idea that every human has five different needs, but each must be addressed first before the next one can be satisfied. It looks like this:

needs.png

So let's break this down by family generation:

family.png

Based on very little besides my own gut feeling here, I have put some names in the levels I feel these men achieved in providing for their families. My great-grandfather put food on the table and a roof over some heads and little else. My grandfather improved on that lot by providing security to his family, primarily financially. My father improved on where he grew up by ensuring our home was full of love and care.

I have always struggled with self-esteem, but I do not think this was due to anything my father did. On the contrary, I think it was in spite of his best efforts. He wrote me a letter when I was 12 years old that described how proud he was of me. The final line said "I'm so glad that you are my son." That year he also went to the honor roll breakfast with me - a little thing my school put on for any student who would get straight A's. But then I started to slack off in school. I let my grades slip as I decided it was more important to "fit in" and "be cool" than live up to my potential. I hated myself for it, and I projected that self-loathing outward and decided that my father must not like me very much anymore either. After all, I never made the honor roll again after that.

So all that is to say that my father did the best he could to fulfill my "esteem" needs, but through my own personal failings I thwarted his attempts. If I want to improve on what he was able to achieve as a father, I need to provide my own son with not only that, but self-actualization, which is indisputably something I lack completely.

top.png

The idea of self-actualization is that you live up to your potential and achieve everything you are capable of achieving. I struggle quite often with the thought that I could have been so much more than what I am now. And in so many senses of the word, too. I could have gotten a much more difficult degree, like medicine or law. I could have a much more prestigious career. I could be so much more wealthy. I could be so much more involved with my community. I could be so much more active in my faith. I could be so much kinder and nicer and generous. The only area I feel I am actually achieving my potential is that of a father, but lately I have been struggling with the fact that I am not bonding with my daughter the way I bonded with my son when he was born a couple years ago, and so even that is being called into question.

"Every generation was better than the one before." I feel like I am already in danger of falling short of that. My grandfather, as I wrote earlier, was able to provide security for his family. In the thirteen years since he passed away, the scope of this achievement has only come into sharper focus. He left behind a wife that never graduated high school and would never have been able to support herself in retirement. Because he worked a good union job for his entire life, he was able to leave her with his pension and social security, which has allowed her to live in comfort and safety long after his death. Even before that, he brought his family up out of a trailer park and into a real home in a nice neighborhood.

My own father went a step farther. Even though he followed in his own dad's footsteps as a union tradesman, he was able to purchase an even nicer home in a very desirable neighborhood. His own career was marked with interesting projects that I am proud of. He has a keychain that is a circular brass tag with the words "DANGER: 50,000 VOLTS" on it. He got that from a job site. Which one? The freaking Washington D.C. Metro. How cool is that? He helped build the DC subway system. He's also worked on hospitals, schools, and other infrastructure projects. A tiny part of this country exists because my dad helped build it. I am jealous of his achievements.

I, on the other hand, spend my days answering e-mails. I contribute nothing tangible to the world. I have no self-actualization when it comes to my own career. I am not proud of it, and I am ashamed to have to explain to my son one day that his grandfather built a subway but his father just sits in a cubicle pushing papers all day. There is honor in working with your hands and creating something. There is no honor in what I do for a paycheck. Beyond that, there is no pension on the horizon for me like there was for my dad and grandfather. There's just a rickety retirement savings account that could easily be wiped out within a year or two of me losing my job. So much for providing financial security, too...

So I look elsewhere, like the EMT stuff, or being a great father. But for 40 hours or more a week, I feel like I just earn enough to check off the first 3 needs of the pyramid. It's draining and depressing and I feel stuck.

What will it take for me to feel like this pointless third of my life was all worth it? If I can help my kids achieve what I could not. My biggest goal as a father is to ensure that my son (and daughter!) discover their passions early and follow their dreams into adulthood. If I can help them attain self-actualization, I'll find it in myself.



Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

I think you have it right, our children will remember not what we have done in the physical sense, but the legacy and opportunity that we give to them. The opportunity and support to realise their own potential.

However, I think you are treating yourself too harshly, I'm sure our parents would have felt similar, despite the fact that we remember things from a different way and in a different perspective. They would have had their weaknesses that they would have been ashamed of, but these are not the things that we remember.

I think the difference in bonding that you have with your second child is entirely normal. The first child is a completely life shattering (in a good way!) experience that only happens the one time. Not that there isn't something special about the second or later times, but it is different. (The sequel is never better than the original... Haha... Lame joke...).

Haha, that's a pretty funny analogy. As an oldest child myself, I approve :P

Yeah, maybe I am being too hard on myself... but it's hard to deny how I feel. Not sure how much of that is under my control or not, so it's just something I'm working through.

Thanks for the advice and the kind words. And thanks for prompting me to write this in the first place with your weekly question :)

I just wrote a long response. I now see @bengy has pretty much said what I wanted to say, but much more succinctly. 😂
I should have said, What he said! and up simply voted his comment. I do however appreciate the chance to broadcast my ideas.
📢💃.

Congrats on the @curie . Well deserved . I read this post and we have a lot in common. Growing up I was the same , forfeiting grades to fit in more. My degree isn’t in business but I ended up in retail. I travelled Europe and have to be thankful of my experiences because of my job but now I’m stuck also. The money is too good to leave though so like you I waste 40 hours a week hating my job.A friend in the same job told me try and do some things you like during your job so I head to gym on my break and it has helped. I think daughters are harder to bond with in the early years. Don’t worry about it . You will be her world in a couple of years. Mammy won’t get a look in. As for the father and grandfather,m. I know I have accomplished way more than them in my career. They were labourers. Worked 9-5 and earned nothing. But something tells me they were happier than I am now So I am now changing the goalposts to what successful isn’t . My dad isn’t 80 now. He had a great life in the pub, music and sport and he was selfish like that putting his wife and kids . It grinds on me a lot which I will never let happen to mine . He was a good dad but he knows my mother raised us really. Typical Irish family in the 80s. 😂😂. He’s still a good dad in his own way.

But something tells me they were happier than I am now

If not happier, then at least more proud or more content or fulfilled.

I do a lot of reading at work myself, which I never get to do at home, so that’s my “gym”. Interesting how much overlap we have. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and reflections. Maybe we’ll both figure it all out one day 😅

i grapple with many of these things too. my boy and girl are wild beasts. i think it is perhaps the one worthy thing i am doing. raising feral kids in an ever encroaching and limiting world. i dont know what to do with my own inadequacies ....i just keep plowing forward with uncertainty, while rolling around in mud puddles with the kids.

thanks for your insights

i think it is perhaps the one worthy thing i am doing.

I think we're on a very similar page. It sounds too like you're making the most of your time with your kids, which we can only hope will pay dividends in their own futures.

I'll let you know if I figure anything else out on where to go from here if you promise to do the same ;)

This is a great post and I honor your drives for self-improvement and providing all of the needs for your children to achieve even more. The doubts you have are normal, and I think they occur for most people, no matter what level of achievement they have reached. They've even done studies on it. From what I understand it's more of a thought habit than an objective perception of reality. It's a tough world we live in these days, in terms of all there is to think about and do. It sounds to me like you are doing the very best you can, and I bet that is what your children and grandchildren will see, just as that is what you saw in your forebearers.

Thank you @uniwhisp! I really appreciate that. It's been a long time coming but I finally feel like I am on may way towards some meaningful personal growth.

Glad to hear I'm not alone in how I feel, that in and of itself is helpful. Thank you for your comment :)

I honor your drives for self-improvement

Well said, I remember attending a mother's group when my baby was small and a number of woman were questioning their parenting and being quite critical of the things they hadn't been able to do, even in those early weeks. One mother who had been quiet through most of the conversation said, "The fact that you are here and voicing those questions tells me that you are doing a great job."
I know her well now we became good friends, she is a paediatrician by the way, and has seen her fair share of parents. I think it is important to add that she too has similar concerns to us all regarding the legacy and guilt of parenting. It is universal regardless of how we spend our 40 or 60 hrs earning our bread.

We're not machines that never feel anything. We're not superheroes that have superpowers.

Don't worry, feel sorry or pity yourself because of what happened in the past. In the first place we're born imperfect.
We're still breathing and anything could happen.

Good advice, I agree it's important to not dwell on the mistakes of the past. My issue today is whether or not I should take any action now. I could apply to nursing school tomorrow, for instance. But I don't. So that's the conundrum I face -- sure the past is the past, but I can change my course in the present at any time, and I don't because I feel trapped by my previous choices and current situation.

Shout out hard and loud and unleash your power!
Like this!

No, its not the way lol

Know your priorities, list them down and think of them, analyze.

Take courage and don't be afraid of mistakes.
Don't be afraid to die and have not done your part or responsibility in this world. Nobody has done perfect in this world.
Use what you have and what is available.

Either you take action now or not, you will always take action soldier!
Life is a warfare!
The world is the battle ground!

Get up soldier!

Haha this is incredibly motivating: both the GIF and the message. Great advice, thanks again for your guidance!

Oh yeah!
You're welcome!

Lovely post @dollarsandsense so much take away from it. Rightly said each generation brings up new thought and advanced technique and where it put us in situation of generation gap.
The way you have define the work of each of last three generation i huge...reading it i can co relate it easily with my family tree..now how we go on from here is huge question. Every father must have preparied their heir to carry on the old legacy or to take up something new. Looking at some of the kids that going to be our next genx i belive they have much matured then what i was at their age...with so much potential to grow. But to protect them from strying away must be our motto....thanks to our ex generation they already have everything ..

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you sir, appreciate the kind words and the feedback. It's a tough question for sure, and a huge responsibility. Thanks for stopping by :)

Hi @dollarsandsense!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.560 which ranks you at #15024 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 112 places in the last three days (old rank 14912).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 223 contributions, your post is ranked at #176.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you all, appreciate the support!

Awesome. The posts that we stall, not knowing how to start, are often the best.

Thank you for the kind words and encouragement 🙂

Hi dollarsandsense,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you @curie! Very encouraging when you all stop by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97