You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reflecting Inward - Thoughts on Fatherhood and Self-Actualization

in #psychology6 years ago

This is a great post and I honor your drives for self-improvement and providing all of the needs for your children to achieve even more. The doubts you have are normal, and I think they occur for most people, no matter what level of achievement they have reached. They've even done studies on it. From what I understand it's more of a thought habit than an objective perception of reality. It's a tough world we live in these days, in terms of all there is to think about and do. It sounds to me like you are doing the very best you can, and I bet that is what your children and grandchildren will see, just as that is what you saw in your forebearers.

Sort:  

Thank you @uniwhisp! I really appreciate that. It's been a long time coming but I finally feel like I am on may way towards some meaningful personal growth.

Glad to hear I'm not alone in how I feel, that in and of itself is helpful. Thank you for your comment :)

I honor your drives for self-improvement

Well said, I remember attending a mother's group when my baby was small and a number of woman were questioning their parenting and being quite critical of the things they hadn't been able to do, even in those early weeks. One mother who had been quiet through most of the conversation said, "The fact that you are here and voicing those questions tells me that you are doing a great job."
I know her well now we became good friends, she is a paediatrician by the way, and has seen her fair share of parents. I think it is important to add that she too has similar concerns to us all regarding the legacy and guilt of parenting. It is universal regardless of how we spend our 40 or 60 hrs earning our bread.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63122.36
ETH 3072.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86