You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Married to an introvert - mission possible?

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

I found your article by @abigai-dantes resteem.

That was a good read!

I very much liked the scale you depicted, so that the wide range can be recognized and the many shades to which one can be extraverted or introverted. That is a really good method and I often use it, too. Also, it delivers a better understanding when things become extreme the more one tends towards the very end of a scale (which of course, is a flexible thing).

I'd like to add that I noticed that I changed during my lifetime. In my young adulthood I was a lot more extraverted compared to now. I connect it to my self-esteem. Self praise and showing off was used by me to receive attention. Apart from that I was more outgoing when I had the feeling that things had to be looked at or stand for.

Good that you and your husband worked things out and accepted your different character traits as something positive and good for co-creation. Your self-reflectings are quite remarkable. To put one in the shoes of the other and come to the realization that denying company or small talks is not selfish from people but sometimes very uncomfortable. Nevertheless it's good to have each other pulled and pushed.

I very much agree that modern civilization tends to pay attention to extroverts. That's an inherent principle in the media driven world. One does not get very much attention by saying reasonable things or staying calm. It doesn't deliver excitement and is unfortunately mistaken as being boring.

Anyhow, I would say both are having good qualities and can complement each other.

Sort:  

Thank you, @erh.germany! I was recommended to visit your blog by @abigail-dantes and I followed it a week ago, but still didn't have the chance to leave a comment.

Good that you and your husband worked things out and accepted your different character traits as something positive and good for co-creation

It's an everyday struggle, though. People always brag about accepting and understanding the other one, but the truth is that it's an everyday effort. You try to understand and accept a certain behavior every single day and it is not an easy task. But who says that relationships are easy?

That's an inherent principle in the media driven world. One does not get very much attention by saying reasonable things or staying calm. It doesn't deliver excitement and is unfortunately mistaken as being boring.

I agree with you that media has to do a lot with it. But I think that our culture mistakenly takes hysteria for extraversion. I think that what media sells us to be "cool" and "normal", is just pure hysteria. And it is frightening.

:) I'd say what we find difficult in others, they find difficult in us. Civilized man is more or less endowed with some self-centered tendencies.
Yes, it is a daily effort and it is therefore good to strive for serenity in the couple's relationship.

Oh, yeah ... I hear you. Drama should not be confused with extraversion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62423.89
ETH 3202.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81