37 Ways To Reduce Your Anxiety - #11 Listening To My Thoughts

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

For a long time, I wished anxiety would just go away! I would overthink things and try to suppress my emotions.

That is until I came across a book by Debbie Ford, 'The Dark Side Of The Light Chasers.' She wrote about how there is a logical reason emotions exist and the purpose of emotions.

I observed that resisting my emotions wasn't working, so I decided to try LISTENING to them instead. If I had anxiety, I became CURIOUS about what my mind was trying to teach me.

By assuming there must be a message for me, I started to gain awareness about why I had anxiety. It was a defense against looking stupid; A defense against appearing weak; A defense against losing control. (I'm sure there will be reasons for your's too).

Was my anxiety trying to protect me? I am certain that it was... From this new way of relating to anxiety, I could potentially release it as an enemy and see anxiety as a protector or messenger.

I've created a list of all the things I've done over the last 15 years that have reduced anxiety for myself and for the people I have worked with. I'll share one a day for the next 37 days. Enjoy!

https://inspirehypnotherapy.com/2017/06/the-purpose-of-thought

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65992.78
ETH 3014.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75