37 Ways To Reduce Your Anxiety - #25 Learning From Anxiety

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

Jeremy Walker.jpg
When difficult emotions come up we will do 1 of 2 things, wish they would go away or try to learn from them.

I'm not saying anxiety doesn't suck, or that it's easy to deal with, just that resisting it, is seldom a good way to reduce it.

Anxiety has hidden benefits that can change your life. Below are some of the benefits I discovered.

  • I was too focused on myself, trying to control how people view me.
  • When I focus on what others are feeling and being curious about them, anxiety is less.
  • Anxiety is letting me know what is 'wrong' for me (some people and locations I just don't enjoy).
  • I have judgements about myself that aren't true (I am actually pretty awesome).
  • Something needs to change.

There are many more no doubt. My hope is that you start to explore what your anxiety is trying to communicate. What meaning, learning or perspective is there to find?

I'd also like to offer 1 more time a chance for anyone who wants to chat, a free 30 minute appointment via Skype. I did an anxiety reduction process with a wonderful lady today. She got 8 actions down on paper she will use to lower her anxiety now.

The free session comes with no strings, but if you want to do further work together we can really produce some great results. Find out more and book a time here. https://inspirehypnotherapy.com

Jeremy
Hypnotherapist
Psychosomatic Therapist

Sort:  

Hey there! I've chosen your post to curate for the Pay It Forward contest!! :).

Thank you very much!!

Gusto saludarte @focus119, llegue a tu post porque @thehoneys, selecciono tu post para el concurso Pay It Forward Curation. Si gustas estas invitado cordialmente a participar

Thanks... but I'll pass on the offer.

PS: I've found your post after reading @thehoneys's participation in the Pay It Forward Contest

Thank you so much for this @focus119! Instead of focusing on how to stop the anxiety (breathing techniques etc), focus instead on what it's trying to tell you. I know it's not that simple, but I appreciate you turning this around and sharing an opportunity to deal with anxiety differently.

I found your post because @thehoneys featured you in a Pay it Forward Curation contest entry; we would love to have you join us with an entry of your own next week too :)

Interesting post! Nice perspective on anxiety! Found you because of @thehoneys and the @pifc contest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68