In Which I Take a Break from Writing By Writing

in #psychology6 years ago

Someone take this laptop away from me. Seriously. I have been playing catch-up since 7AM. That's 5 hours now of constant reading and upvoting and noting and responding and typing. I am almost there. A good push could get me through the series of emails and remaining articles I need to produce. And that push will absolutely happen, but not right now.

Instead, I am going to peel my fingers from this keyboard, get a nice cup of coffee and something delicious to eat and NOT look at a screen. I may nap. I'm not sure. I have a true blue headache blooming behind my eyes from hyper-focus. It's a thing. It happens every Sunday while I rush to catch up before Monday hits. I teach Monday nights. All the things MUST be done in advance. I'm like a squirrel caching nuts.

tj-holowaychuk-295689.jpg
Image Source

Oh that work-life balance. I suppose I really do need that vacation. Maybe I should leave the house without my devices just for an hour?

How do you take mini-breaks?

I mean, good food, yes. Gotta have that. And there is something waiting in the fridge that will fill my heart-stomach. But it would be better enjoyed not here.

Perhaps a shower. That's the one place no one bothers me usually. But I tend to think in there. I need to turn that function off for awhile.

I should bundle up and walk in my woods. I should light a candle and meditate. I should sit in my closet with the lights off.

YES! I'll do all that. Thank you for this. Sometimes I just need to write it out to find the best course of action.

What are you doing for self-care today?

Recent Posts

Don't forget, best comment on this account or @nat5an each week gets 5SBD reward.

APP.png

Sort:  

Thank you for posting, this will be my resteem

It's so important to unplug. My favorite self-care moments:

  • meditation
  • a walk with the dogs, and no phone
  • a hot bath with a glass of wine and good music
  • a solo dance party in the living room with the music as loud as it can go

That solo dance party sounds amazing right now. I wonder if I can kick my husband out of there . . . So far I've done the food and not looking at anything work-related for an hour. Win?

Total win! I have to force myself to not work at least one weekend day. Some days it’s easier than others. Kick him out. I highly recommend the solo dance party!

Hehe. I will tell him this is happening on your instruction. ;)

Love the post my break is eating and working out its the best way for me to recharge! Cant wait to see more post! I up voted and followed i'm new to steemit but if you get the chance please check my blog out I think you will enjoy it thanks!

Oh good gracious I LOVE working out. I want to do that now, but I also know I shouldn't (due to an injury). At least, not any of the workout moves I want to do. LOL. I got the eating covered!

This is very relatable. Sometimes when this happens to me, I worry whether I have a life. Lol, but that's just what it is. I take walks in the evening. But still can't turn off thinking. Let me know when you figure that out.

I like that you have an evening routine. I think that may be what I'm missing. A walk in the morning would be a great start to my day, a walk in the evening a great cap. I used to drink a cup of decaffeinated tea every evening. That would be easy to bring back in. And meditation like @appiepearl said. I miss that.

Yeah, routine is good. I read about it in a book 'The Power of Habit' by Charles Duhigg. It releases your mind to direct your mental capabilities to more useful things.

During weekdays, I usually don't have too much free time. Working in the hospital fills and dries me at the same time so when the weekend arrives I barely recognize myself. So I use these days to relax and get back my energy. I basically convert my house in my own spa. I paint my nails, exfoliate my face and hidratate my hair. They could be silly things but they help me feel like a person again.

Also, I usually watch a movie with my parents (this is our bondig time) and I dedicate some time to take my nephews to the park so their happiness can ignite my weekend too.

It's important that you take a break, you deserve it.

A personal at-home spa day sounds amazing! What a great idea. I may take care of my nails here in a bit. It forces me to hold still while they dry. I can Netflix and nails. :)

at-home spa day sounds amazing!

Tenzin! A Korra marathon also sounds amazing!

Hey, what a fantastic read, @shawnamawna! Just what I needed, soothing and uplifting. I like your way of relaxing and self-care. I was riding a bike today and met some friends in the afternoon, and it worked very well for me. I have difficulties with work-life balance, I tend to work much too much ;) And usually what rescues me is sport and friends. I also like to meditate or go for a walk, but I do it less often.

Thank you for this post, I'm following you for more!
All the best,
Klaudia

You know, I used to love biking. Now that I have kids I am afraid of going out on the roads even though I live in one of the most bike-friendly towns in the USA. I remember the feeling of the wind and the vibration of the tires on different surfaces. I may just sit in those memories for awhile to recharge. Thank you for sharing this, Klaudia.

interesting post
I'm always immersed in my studies and programming computers
my free moments are to think, listen to music and write a little

What type of music do you enjoy? If you have a post on it or other link, I'd love to follow it. Writing is always my safe space, myrecharge, but I have been writing so much for work I think I need to dream in my head more.

to write I need to listen to music first, it's the trigger
I listen to soundtracks, trance music, instrumental music
I need something that opens the breastfills of my chest

My favorite self-cares:

  1. meditation
  2. prayers
  3. swimming
  4. walk in my garden.

Ooh. Prayers. They can be so meditative and uplifting. That reminds me of a gratefulness practice I've had for awhile now. Anything that hurts or chafes my heart is something I sit down with and hold gratefulness for. Because, surely, it is teaching me something. @alexisdonkin taught me that practice. I hope she comes back to blog here again soon.

Such an awesome post. It's funny how you need to talk something through or type/write something out before you come to a realization. I have that same phenomena. It's how we make connections, I guess. You pull all the existing strings together, and then only you figure out what kind of string you end up with. This was quite enjoyable to read. A win-win! x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67597.54
ETH 3772.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55