What Is Your Way Out? #FreeWrite

in #psychology5 years ago

My life story is enough to make a dramatic series on Netflix. I may not be able to acknowledge a lot about myself but I will proudly own up to being a survivor. I have seen my fair share of the 'worst' life can offer. The leeward side of life. Though mine hasn't been the full blown Sahara desert as I have been blessed to have had enough oasis to get me where I am.

I habour unseen wounds. Some drying up by the minute. Others still raw and bleeding. Others very much hidden even from myself. But I also have some healing ones. And healed ones. Which are my scars now. I proudly adorn them as those help keep me in the fight for my next one.

IMG-20190426-WA0034.jpg

Aside from what I am doing right now which is writing, duh; music has also played a huge role in keeping me alive and sane enough for those fights. It's hard to fight for one's lost everything. From freedom to the right and space to live. You wonder where one would start but music is the place I started.

It's where I'd run when nothing worked. When something worked. When life tried/trys to break me. Music fixed/fixes everything for me. I couldn't talk to anyone about everything so I chose music to speak for me and heal me. I still can't believe it worked... that it still does work everytime. Here's to the power of soothing ballads and danceable beats!

My earphones are my current soulmates and we tag along everywhere together. To work. To school. To the shop. I use them to ignore so much nonsense if I could please use that word. It is also a good way to keep me from starting 'revolutions' in public transport. And I believe that.

Sometimes, I can clearly see my earphoneless self asking my fellow Kenyans why we allow gluttonous people to rule our beloved country. Chanting revolutionary things like Power to the People. But I wouldn't make it to the capital alive and I have children to raise so lemme stay plugged in!

So yes... my life is that dramatic series on Netflix with the right background music to go with. Loads of hiphop (currently listening to NF), loads of ILLENIUM, Imagine Dragons, Billie Eilish, Old Skul Reggae and African beats to spice it all up among a few others.

I am very particular about what I listen to... As I fully understand if I were asked by anyone how I survived or what's my way out of anything doesn't rhyme with my energy, I'd say music then writing. Music saved my life. It has done so for many times.

Currently I can't get enough of Apparat's you don't know me. I was recently introduced to Apparat by my girl @ruth-girl ♡♡♡ Thank you beautiful:)

So... What's your way out?

                          **Cross Posted**

BQ.

Sort:  

Aside from what I am doing right now which is writing, duh; music has also played a huge role in keeping me alive and sane enough for those fights.

Yeah babe! "Music is balm for the soul" So, just ruffle your feathers, extend your wings through the air and keep writing your healing stories to speak for you and everyone else.

You wonder where one would start but music is the place I started.
It's where I'd run when nothing worked. When something worked. When life tried/trys to break me. Music fixed/fixes everything for me.

That is it @tezmel. Once and everytime you've had landed from a previous flight like the above. Simply grab your "current soulmates" again and you will go Ooh La La La as much as you want to climb the heights one more time. :)

Thank you for sharing your musical experience with me. I will definitely get back to them in a few... here is to the healing mystic powers of music ♡

I love music as well. I feel it's a portal into our soul given certain vibrations through what one is hearing, and feeling...

The simple truth in this is so deep 💙

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

You got a 3.69% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tezmel! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60853.02
ETH 2904.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62