You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 25 | Depression through the lens of CBT & the case study of Mr. B.

in #psychology6 years ago

Do you agree with the behaviorist notion that proposes that it is not the situation per se that causes emotional responses; but rather the meaning attached to it?

I do agree; a terrifying life situation might happen to two people, the severity of the effect on the people depends on how they see it(attaching meaning to it)
For instance, personally, have run into some unhealthy relationship with friends and families members that almost cost me my life. As i thought i was ignored and not loved, sometimes lead to depression and low esteem. Until i looked for help. I had to understand that these things were normal, and my perception of some things are not correct.
Hope am still inlined with the question

Whenever you feel sad or anxious do you also resort to strategies that alleviate the symptoms of your painful feelings?

Sure most times, i tend to move away from the place or people that instigate the anger and anxiety

Nice write-up, love your analogy using Mr. B. I do understand it.

Sort:  

Hi @tormiwah :)
I am so happy you liked the analogy! I really appreciate you pointing this out :)

Hope am still inlined with the question

It was really interesting for me to read your particular, personal example and also self-analyses. I suppose we all go through what you did at some point in life. Some in a greater extent than others, but then again, it seem to be, in the end, down to the meaning we attach to it.

Thank you for this beautiful feedback @tormiwah
Best!

Yea making the post entertaining and having the readers in mind, the analogy surely fulfill that. Kudos to erh.germany for stimulating that. Will surely try to imorove my post also.😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63759.51
ETH 3318.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91