You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Depression and Suicide

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

Thanks for posting this. I think that by posting this here you will get the adequate amount of "Oh yeah, me too!" support that you need to hang in there. Trust me, I deal with the "suicide" issue on a regular basis, and am NOT opposed to euthanasia in the core sense. Yes, the world is totally messed up, and I think that we have all been living under this INCREASING "vice grip" of chaos for so long that it is a "battle of attrition" which many of the "smart" people just get sick of. Yes, you could kill yourself - just like Anthony Bourdain did this week. Yes, I could down a bottle of sedatives and drift off into the "great beyond". HOWEVER, look at how SHOCKED so people are by Anthony Bourdain's suicide, and look at the work that he left behind. He was a trailblazer (in what he did) and he left a mark on the world which causes people to regret that they couldn't help him refrain from the "final solution". It's the same with you, Captain Phil. Yes, you have a tendency to totally "BITCH-out" on a regular basis, and YES, you kicked me out of your PUNY club in a nazi-esque manner. But you know what? I STILL have voted you as witness, and I STILL enjoy reading your "BITCH-outs" (with all of their adolescent explitives, and all), and if you DO indeed off yourself I will STILL feel like the world is missing an "interesting" and "dynamic" soul who strived to fight against the status quo. I think that the ONLY thing which is going to help CURB this growing suicide issue is for people to CONNECT and gain the sense that they are NOT ALONE. I think that the loneliness - and it's accompanying FEAR - are the most destructive factors at play here. Perhaps we are simply reaching the point, as a species, where the masses are starting to wake up to the "dead end" trajectory we have been on for TOO LONG. Perhaps we are hitting "collective rock bottom", and will START to collective rise from the ashes of the hell we've created for ourselves. For me, I find hope in continuing to work on my writing, art, etc. AND seeing that MANY people here are Steemit are dealing with some of the same issues. What else can be done, right? So here's a little gift for you. I recently discovered Daniel Mackler's YouTube channel and have been enjoying his videos daily. He is a former clinical psychologist who exposes the dysfunction of the mental health "system" AND society in general (of which the "mental health system" is merely one MANIFESTATION). I think that you will find some solace in his words - as I have been, daily - and I hope this helps you get through the current rut so that you can push on through the TRENCHES of "battlefield life" a little longer. I mean, let's face it, death is not GOING ANYWHERE, and once you get there it is a long ride to "who knows where"...

Over and out,

@transcript-junky

On Anxiety -- Being Passionate and True in a Dishonest World

Sort:  

That is a bad ass comment and video, I watched the full video and I completely agree that this "anxiety" reaction is completely normal to our dishonest, brainwashed world.

It has always been like that by the way! Back then they just didn't label you anxious for that.

Happiness in intelligent people is the rarest thing I know. -Ernest Hemingway

Its hard being a happy person when you see through all the bullshit and even get ostracized for being "Special".

I told you several times man, join my discord again, you seem to still be mad I kicked you, I forgot that.

I hold no grudges mate, just join and we can have honest and passionate discussions, I am known for that, and thats why many people come to my server too 👍

https://discord.gg/VRSaB9y

Haha! Don't mention it. It's what I do. I'm a profession veteran of "battlefield life". Thanks for the invite to your Dscord, but I was just busting your SHE-chops. I am in over my head with Discord and everything else, so I will save the link and MAY join some time in the future. The IMPORTANT thing is that you got something out of my comment, and (hopefully) this has been ONE thing PREVENTING you from taking decision/action which is IRREVERSIBLE... Easier said than done... "One nervous breakdown at a time..." as my saying goes...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63578.68
ETH 3314.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94