You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Poisonous Sense Of Entitlement And How To Avoid It

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

I recently wrote a little dissertation myself about the need of being able to appreciate the talent in others to be able to appreciate your own... All the greatest artists I've stumbled upon have been so humble... Of course we are not talking about fake modesty, we are artists, we must, despite our unsecurity somehow believe in what we do... but the WORLD IS FULL OF TALENT... raw and polished... the world is full of dreamers. If we think ourselves perfect what field there is for improvement?

I happen to be not of competitive nature, except with myself, with myself I am fierce, sometimes even unfair and unjust, I wish I could be to myself the way I see it for others..., but I feel blessed the world is full of dreams and dreamers... some of them inspired me, some of them will inspire others...

I recognize some of the attitudes, we all have a couple of friends like this, they are not necessarily bad people but they limit their talent to their size of their egos, and thus a LIMIT, that if it didn't exist would be "boundless".
If you do things with such high expectations, brace for possible frustration, because not always things are going to turn our way.

By the way, sometimes they do

and

grateful

Sort:  

I have met a lot of famous musical artists in my time and one thing they all had in common was humility. Humility does not mean a lack of confidence. They were confident but humble, those two qualities can coexist and I find it really sexy.

During my days on the stage, it was easy to fall victim to an inflated ego with people all around you always telling you how great you are, but when I would see how much talent is really out there it was easy to feel humbled again.

I, like you, have not thought of music as a competition, but do strive to get better each time I play in a sort of competition with myself, pushing me to improve. I've always believed that the largest room in the world is the room for improvement and the more I improve the larger the room gets.

I agree that being humble and believing are not incompatible.
I was sort of thinking about my reply and realizing I was not quite right
I really don't "compete" with myself either, it's more a challenge...
I keep on learning

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64215.81
ETH 3150.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86