You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: More Farmers Market Love {Root Veggie Breakfast Bake for Tasty Tuesday}

in #qurator5 years ago

Oh my word @plantstoplanks, this really looks so delicious! Hubby's doing Keto at the moment so I don't want to tempt him but will be making this once he reaches his goal weight. Obviously will still go easy on the carbs (he's a type 1 diabetic) but these are healthy carbs, looks so colourful too!

Sort:  

Thank you @lizelle! Did you know rutabaga is actually lower in carbohydrates than potatoes? It would be a great option for your hubs once he transitions if you can find it near you. I have come to really enjoy the flavor of it, as well, especially in something like this! :)

I have not seen it, will keep my eyes open from now on, but will have to omit it from this recipe if I can't find it. You and @birdsinparadise always discover the most interesting fruits and vegetables!

I hope you can find it! But if not even the sweet potato and Brussels are always a good combo in my opinion. I think @birdsinparadise and I are pretty lucky in the areas we live in as far as agriculture goes. She's even further South, but winters here don't get too cold either so there are still lots of things that can be grown this time of year. Then the spring through fall just gets ridiculous with so many wonderful types of produce!

We also have an abundance of fresh produce, maybe I need to keep my eyes peeled for new stuff! I will try that combo if I don't find it! Thank you @plantstoplanks, you are really kind:)

You know it's funny you say that. For years I only frequented the farmers market occasionally, and when I did I generally stuck to what I knew. This past year or so has really opened my eyes to all of the different things we have available here. Going weekly also ensures I don't miss out on some of the things that are fleeting (like the stunning romanesco from last month), and I have tried to expand my horizons to continue to look out for the things I haven't brought home to my kitchen yet. I hope you have a similar experience and find some lovely new things from your neck of the woods my friend! It is such fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62025.59
ETH 3074.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84