You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: More Farmers Market Love {Root Veggie Breakfast Bake for Tasty Tuesday}

in #qurator5 years ago

I’m yum! I love rutabaga bakes. You can make such good hash browns out of them too. The onions tend to caramelize a bit and you get a little sweetness. Not fair… I miss my rutabagas. Blurrbbb (that’s the sound it makes when you stick your tongue out and blow a little). Haha

Dude, can we talk about those black bean muffins? I just made some black bean cupcakes and they were delicious. Who would of thought black beans make for an excellent flour. Love it!

Sort:  

This might be my favorite way I have used them so far, though the fries were pretty darn delicious, too. @dksart didn't enjoy those as much, though, since they don't really crisp up like potatoes. Not that he didn't like the rutabaga fries, he just likes crispy fries in general.

Cupcakes?? That is one that I have not done yet, but I have enjoyed black bean brownies before so that totally makes sense. I usually do the muffins on the savory side, but I may need to experiment with some more sweet options in the future. 🍰 (How is there not a cupcake emoji??)

You should invent the cupcake emoji. I tend to favor rutabaga fries because I can’t have potatoes. I’d be right there with @dksart if i couodneat potatoes. The only reason I made black bean cupcakes is because where we are right now we don’t have a brownie type dish. I was craving chocolate bad so I made do with a cupcake tin and I must say, they turned out great. Granted my taste buds are all wonky since I haven’t had sugar in a few months but Dandays said they weren’t that bad either. I’ll defintely make them again. I heated mine up and topped them with a spoonful of homemade almond butter. It was such a treat for me. Lame huh?!? Rutabagas are a versatile root ice found. Before we left the states I was toying with the idea of making a rutabaga pie… sounded good to me 🤷🏼‍♀️

Perhaps the next round of emoji releases will finally have a cupcake. 😉

You put anything in "fry" form and I'm going to like it. Sweet potatoes, regular potatoes, rutabaga, and oh my gosh have you had chickpea fries before? The local Marlow's Taverns have those, and it's like delicious hummus formed into a fat and delicious fry. Dang, now I'm getting hungry...

Speaking of hungry, I would totally dig a black bean cupcake with almond butter on top!! I think I'm a bit weird in that I could totally get down for that kind of treat, but then I haven't totally changed my taste buds to where I wouldn't devour a piece of decadent chocolate vegan cake. The sugar monster is the hardest to tame for me.

Hhhhmmm, rutabaga pie? Well sweet potato and pumpkin pie are totally a thing, so why not rutabagas?

Sugar is the hardest addiction I’ve ever had to kick. It doesn’t help that it’s in every- flicking- thing. If I had my choice between black bean cupcakes with almond butter and a decadent chocolate anything I’d totally scarf the decadence.

What? Did you say chickpea fries? What in the world is that? They sound like perfection. I must try to make these fries.… can they be baked, do you know? Hmmmm… I’m on it dog garnet. Tell you what, send me a few rutabagas and I’ll make a badass pie from them that’ll convince you it’s a good idea. :)

So they are something similar to this: https://www.onegreenplanet.org/vegan-recipe/chickpea-fries/
I might have to play around with them, too, because they are really delicious!

So @dksart totally made me a potato pie for Valentine's Day. 🤣 Pizza dough crust with cooked potatoes inside. Be still my carb-loving heart, hahaha! 💓 I should be able to post later on, so maybe I'll share a picture. If he had realized there was still a rutabaga in the produce bin he might have used that, as well.

Oh my gosh, I’m so down with a potato pie. I can almost smell it from over here. Yum, potatoes. Rutabagas mix real well with potatoes, just sayin… Good job @dksart. Gift killer since 2018! Haha

I’ll check them out. I just saw chickpea flour at the auto Mercado grocery store here, too. We take off to another place soon that doesn’t have these North American grocery stores so I’ll have to stock up. Let me know if you make them and they turn out…

Edit: when you first mentioned chickpea fries this was the exact recipe I pulled up from one green planet. Great minds I tell ya!

He definitely rocks the homemade gifts. Last year he did a sweet pie made out of random ingredients we had in the kitchen (I think he forgot where the grocery store was since I do all the shopping, haha). It was a pie with bananas, apples, carrots and pineapple I think? Sounded weird, but it was delicious!

I totally need to re-stock my chickpea flour! I just looked and I'm almost out. I haven't used it in a little while, but it is pretty versatile. And now I'm wondering if you could do the same with black bean flour...Experiments ahead! 😜

Black bean fries? Hmmmm… I just made some almond breaded zucchini fries. They turned out pretty good. I made a tahini dip for them. That was bomb.… it’s a farmers market day here so I think those fries are in store for us tonight :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60693.34
ETH 3032.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81