You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Summer is coming to an end... And it's been a busy one!

in #re-wilding5 years ago

I've never heard of thimble berry. What a pretty bush! You sound about as busy as we are here at Kindred Acres. It's all so worth it though, isn't it?? ;) Don't forget to take a few quiet moments for yourself though. Just enough time for a few deep breaths. It's important.

Sort:  

Yes definitely worth it, I feel alive you know, really alive!!! We're even trying to eat tons of wild foods... just finished off the last bit of chicken of the woods from an early spring flush!!!

Thanks for the input... and I do forge to take time to breath, thanks for the reminder 😁

Yes! I totally understand and appreciate that feeling. I feel that every morning when I get out to the food forest. It's so peaceful in the early morning hours and it just feels so amazing. As for wild foods, I really want to gain my confidence in this area. I can ID some basic mushrooms like reishi and chicken of the woods and even though I know for sure it is what it is, I'm still to chicken (pun intended teheh) to eat them!! I think I need to find myself a local wild expert to mentor me. I have 3.5 acres and a good bit of it is wooded. There is all kinds of wild food out there I know I'm just missing out on!

I have only been eating mushrooms that do not have a deadly look-alike for now, I started with black trumpets last year 😁, but like you, I do not want to venture very far into the world of fungi without an expert mentor!

As far as other wild foods in the forest and it's edges, knowing what can be eaten in my earea is part of our "prepper strategy". I figure we could stow away a lot of canned foods and all that but in the end the wild food when it is available is a bit like a hidden food pantry only so many know about.

Definitely! Free food and wild (typically more nutrient-dense) is the way to go! Certainly something I need to study more. Thanks for the inspiration!

You are very welcome 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63867.81
ETH 3135.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84