You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Apple vs. Google - Closed Versus Open Systems - Book Club #19: "Steve Jobs"

in #reading6 years ago

Hey Khaleel, hope you had a beautiful day. How's your Keto fitness program going? Am sure it's all fine.

Now the to the issue we are discussing, I wasn't with Jobs on this one, at least from a personal point of view. For Apple, it was clearly a good thing. It was beneficial to Apple and created the environment for the great innovation that came out of Apple's product.

Now the reason I support open source development is that I consider it as a way of giving back to the society. With open-sourcing a lot of other upcoming developers have the motivation to innovate something out. It might not be perfect but it gives them the opportunity to work on their skills. Apple and other tech companies cannot employ all the software developers around, therefore by making their software open-source and accessible to all, it allows for everyone with interest to have a platform to do something.

Well, I know this will not resonate well with the business community as business owners should focus on internal growth and profit making. But I believe as businesses, we have a responsibility to the world we operate in.

Sort:  

Hey @Lordjames, hope you did as well! The program is still going along nicely, I have been slacking on the update posts and I have to get back on top of the ball!

I agree, there definitely is an entrepreneurial wave that follows with an open source system. I think Apple had an interesting set up where they were able to keep a closed system on their products while still allowing smaller developers to flourish on the App Store

I'll take a little more time to study Apple's process with the app store. Am not much knowledgeable about how they operate it. But I think I'll need a bit more understanding so it will help in future decision making.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59179.00
ETH 2969.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75