You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: On Practicing Discomfort - A Guide to the Good Life: The Ancient Art of Stoic Joy - Book Club #22

in #reading6 years ago

First world problem: My cell phone charger cannot reach my bed.

Third world problem: obvious... no power, no bed.

At first Musonius sounds excessive. Who would create situations of discomfort? But this is what you do when you fast.

I get so used to comfort that if circumstances change unfavorable I find myself complaining. This is even more serious with my children. I want to set a humble example so they can be prepared for the next storm of life.

Situations that shake us up build inner character and test what is there.

I'm really glad to see you put this philosophy into practice. When we hear the words, "deny yourself" we think we cannot exist... but when we practice "deny yourself" we find out who we really are. There are great examples in history but they seem too great. The way I start is to look for things that I really don't need and live without. It is amazing how much you can downsize. I spent all Saturday getting rid of "stuff" I don't need. I have a lot more to get rid of. Maybe I just need my notebook and a few pairs of clothes.

This philosophy can also apply to our blog. I like to watch the numbers go up but I realize I became spoiled in February. This would be a good opportunity to deny myself while Steem is low and find ways to help others.

Sort:  

Exactly! The problems and "upsets" that we see throughout the day are entirely dependant on our reaction to them. If we condition ourselves to be ok with a little discomfort, these first-world problems will be no problem at all. Stoics would argue the same for third world problems as well - every situation could be worse and we should take solace in that.

Fasting is a great example and something that he eludes to as well - to my knowledge he didn't have a fasting schedule, but would simply hold off on eating until he had been hungry for a few hours at times.

but when we practice "deny yourself" we find out who we really are.
^100%

Yeah it's very applicable to Steem. When the price goes down, so do our numbers, but we should recognize that the numbers could in fact be even lower or not exist at all in the first place!!

Thanks for your thoughts @mineopoly, great to hear from you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63626.14
ETH 3107.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87