Lea's Libations // Healthy Moscow Mule Recipe [Video Tutorial]

in #recipe6 years ago (edited)


Hi Friends!

I love experimenting with fun cocktail recipes and so I'm starting a new series called "Lea's Libations" where I will share some of my recipes with you!

I made a margarita recipe video on Cinco de Mayo and got a really positive response from that - so be sure to let me know how you like this video - or if you have any cocktail requests!

Sugar is the Struggle



I recently did a post talking about how I am changing up my diet and trying to eat healthier. Limiting sugar has been one of the most difficult things for me! When it comes to cocktails... most have a good amount of sugar. It has been a bit of a challenge for me to experiment and adapt some of my old recipes to reflect a healthier, lower sugar version that still has great flavor.

Where does the sugar come from in a Moscow Mule? Two places. First, most people add simple syrup, and then the ginger beer itself can have quite a bit of sugar. My old recipe actually had a lovely ginger simple syrup where I boiled ginger root with water and sugar - but I have actually realized that this recipe tastes great without the simple syrup at all. If you do like it sweeter - feel free to add monk fruit, stevia, or your favorite sweetener to taste.

Picking a good brand of ginger beer can make a big difference too. Some brands have quite a bit more sugar than others. I personally LOVE fever tree. Their flavor has a good mix of spicy and sweet. One of the ways I have cut down on sugar in this recipe, is by using less ginger beer, and adding a bit of soda water.

Won't this water down the drink??

Fear Not!!

If you have a little extra time, you can make a ginger vodka infusion - so you are still getting a sharp ginger flavor in your drink with a limited amount of sugar.

C010B967-3D8D-4FCC-A47F-3D0BD9FB6520.jpeg

The Recipe



Feel free to play around with and adapt this recipe to your taste preferences. After some experimentation, these ratios are what seems to fit my personal taste the best!

Lea's Libations Moscow Mule


  • Juice of half a lime
  • 2oz of Ginger Vodka (recipe below)
  • 3 oz Ginger Beer
  • 2-3 oz Soda Water (to taste)
  • Additional sweetener to taste (monk fruit, stevia, simple syrup)

Ginger Infused Vodka



Literally throw raw ginger root into a jar with some vodka and let it sit. I personally use about an inch piece - chopped up in chunks, and let it sit in a 16oz jar of vodka for a week. If you have less time, you could up the amount of ginger to have the desired flavor sooner. You can even get a nice ginger flavor within 24 hours if needed.

Once your vodka has finished infusing, be sure to pull out the ginger pieces.

Cheers!



I hope you guys enjoyed this video and maybe felt inspired to try a healthier version of this classic cocktail! I have plenty more fun recipes to share in this series - so be sure to let me know if you have any requests!

xo, Lea

21D684CB-CA72-4207-9485-43D5D4994863.gif


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

How about a brand new orginal STEEM drink creation? Call it a STEEMIT . Maybe make special steemit logo garish and incorporate some dry ice....

You are a literal genius. What a fun idea!!

If anyone can pull this off its you :)

I actually loveee ginger not only because of the taste but because of the various health benefits. I can’t believe I have never had a Moscow Mule, not even in my bartending days! I must try this sometime :) thanks for the healthy recipie.

Anyway, when you banged the ice 😂😂 ahhhh I literally had tears in my eyes!

YAAAASS!! Hahah I was really hoping at least one other person would get a kick out of that. 😂

If you like ginger, you will love Moscow Mules. Especially since you can adjust the amount of ginger flavor, depending on the ginger beer you use, and whether you infuse the vodka or not. 😉

I hate when things like that go unnoticed in my videos! Haha

Thank you so much! I’ll let you know when I try it :)

I'm very happy that you're changing your eating habits, it's really a challenge for me to take that big step, although you really look great, but it's always positive any change that can benefit my body! I hope to see many more of these recipes, which show that you can also enjoy cocktails with a healthy, happy evening.

ok.........Nice that you have been able to set up without sugar.....Great recipe ........lovely post

I also want to change my eating habits. I really like sugar. . . . Thanks for your sharing, it was really helpful to me

I had first heard of mule a few days ago but never knew exactly what it was made of. Thank you for sharing!

Very interesting that the mug could make the different. Thank you for the drink idea I'm having party next week so for sure I will try them :)

Thanks a lot for your Cocktail recipe but I don't consume alcohol in any form. You have a delicious Mocktail recipe?

Moscow Mules are actually my go-to drink that I ever get when I dine out or am with friends! Loved the video and happy you are joining the Moscow Mule lovers group. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97