Easy Peasy Taco Seasoning Recipe

in #recipe6 years ago

I thought I would share the taco seasoning recipe I make that I mentioned in my cooking blog yesterday. Good if premix has allergens, good because premix comes in excess, non-recyclable packaging, good because overall it probably is cheaper (though admittedly I haven't done the math), good if you just wanna make tacos with what you have on hand!

taco seasoning 2.jpg

Get a jar you can pour a bunch of spices in. Mine is an old Kraft grated cheese jar - back when you used to be able to find the grated American like you can grated parmesan. Yes, I looooved putting what is essentially mac and cheese powder on all sorts of pasta. And my cats liked it, too. LOL

In said jar, mix:
(side note: I'm being lazy so here's my shorthand that I thought everybody knew and used but apparently they don't! A capital T means Tablespoon, a lowercase t means teaspoon. Ta da!)

1 T. chili powder
1/4 t. garlic powder
1/4 t. onion powder
1/4 t. crushed red pepper flakes
1/4 t. dried oregano (Mexican cut*)
1/2 t. paprika
1 1/2 t. ground cumin
1 t. sea salt
1 t. black pepper

*Mexican cut oregano: there are two different things commonly labeled "oregano" in the store. If it doesn't say, a quick cheat is if it's cheaper, it's probably "Mexican cut" oregano, which actually isn't oregano at all, it's in the verbena family. If it's expensive, it's "Greek" oregano. The difference is you want Greek oregano in Italian food, and Mexican oregano in Mexican food. Now you know!

PS: you can mod this a bit and it's probably fine! Once (I noted it on my recipe card, even) I was missing the onion powder, crushed red pepper, paprika, and cumin - and so I added one extra teaspoon of chili powder and 1 1/2 teaspoon of cajun spices, which I had on hand. Turned out fine.

Post Post Script: sometimes a jar will say "chili powder" and sometimes it will say "cayenne" and I use them interchangeably. I don't think there's a difference, but I'm not sure. It works either way. ;)

taco seasoning 1.jpg

Thanks for reading!

Referral links:

Get free Manna, crypto UBI: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=6e4b50d35e

Join Simbi, the barter economy website: https://simbi.com/wren-paasch/welcome

Earn rebates from your everyday shopping with ibotta. Join with my referral code: ptonkkp. You’ll get a $10 welcome bonus and I’ll get $5. https://ibotta.com/rebates

Use Presearch for all your internet searching, including on specific websites, choose your search engine, earn free crypto: https://presearch.org/signup?rid=480866

Buy a Druid a Coffee (or the kittehs some noms, more likely): http://ko-fi.com/phoenixwren

photostudio_1518154776752.jpg

Sort:  

I always make my own blends because they are cheaper, fresher and don't have fillers or additives. I think they just taste way better. JMHO

hay you use the same mix as me apart from I leave out the cumin, I hate the taste and i can tell if it is in something or not, it stems from been a child as I decided to eat them straight out of the little herb bottle my mum kept in the cupboard. haha.
great for tacos, great on top of cheese topped nachos too.

Oh nooooo your poor little toddler tongue! LOL

Yep and never again haha. I still feel sick thinking about it 30 years later.

When I was a teenager, the first time I ever tried sushi, I had never herd of wasabi before. My ignorant ass thought it was a guacamole type dip, made of avocados, and I picked some up in a spoon and ate it straight.
I about burned a hole through my tongue. I drank the whole pot of green tea. I don't even like tea.

oooohhhh that sounds painful, at least you had something to hand to cool you tongue down, but green tea yuk haha. I like normal tea, but I'm not a coffee fan though.

Thanks for sharing dear

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98