No Yeast Cinnamon Rolls

in #recipes5 years ago

Gooey cinnamon rolls are a wonderful treat that you shouldn’t have to wait hours for. This no yeast version of cinnamon rolls yields results just as yummy as ones that would take much longer to make.

Don’t skimp on the cinnamon, I know a tablespoon seems excessive, but they are called cinnamon rolls after all.

Ingredients:
for the dough

  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • ¼ cup milk
  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 tablespoons melted butter
  • 1 tablespoon softened butter

for the filling

  • 2 tablespoons softened butter
  • ¼ cup sugar
  • ¾ cup brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon
  • 1 pinch of salt
  • ½ tablespoon vanilla extract

for the glaze

  • ¾ cup confectioner’s sugar
  • 1 tablespoons softened unsalted butter
  • 2 tablespoons heavy cream
  1. Preheat the oven to 435℉. Grease an 8 inch round pan with butter or cooking spray and set aside.

  2. In a medium bowl, create the filling by combining the sugar, brown sugar, cinnamon, salt, and vanilla extract. Cut in the softened butter (using your hands to pinch it in works really well). When the filling is uniform, set aside.

  3. Create the dough by combining the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and sugar in a large bowl. Stir until combined.

  4. In a large measuring cup, place the buttermilk, milk, and melted butter. Whisk together and add to the dry ingredients. Stir until just combined. Knead in the bowl for about 30 seconds.

  5. On a clean, flat, floured surface, press the dough into square(ish) shape, about 12 inches by 10 inches.

  6. Spread the filling evenly on the dough, then using your fingers, gently press it in to the dough.

  7. Along the long edge of the dough, begin rolling the dough into a cylinder, rolling all the way to the opposite end. Cut off the uneven ends of the rolled up dough.

  8. Cut the dough into 8 even pieces. In the prepared pan, place one roll into the center of the pan, place the remaining roll around that one.

  9. Place the rolls in the oven and bake for 15 minutes.

  10. While the rolls are cooking, prepare the glaze by beating together the softened butter and confectioners sugar, then beating in the heavy cream. Allow the rolls to cool for about 4 minutes before swiping them with the glaze. Serve warm and enjoy.

Sort:  

Yeast is so yummy though! I actually have a friend that was surprised I use yeast for my bread. I asked him why and he said that some people are opposed to using yeast. I just couldn't figure out what the issue was. I still don't quite understand it today. Is it because it is "alive"? I don't really know. Yeast or not, these look fantastic though. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!

The only time I skip yeast is when I'm feeling inpatient, as it adds to the time I have to wait for my baked goods. Otherwise, I'm not opposed at all.

Ah yes, good point. I actually have a love hate relationship with yeast. It always takes forever to activate. Even the fast stuff!

Posted using Partiko Android

Looking so delicious to have it. So yummy my friend. 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

I love cinnamon rolls. I only have them about once a year. Those ones look delicious. I agree that you shouldn't skimp on the cinnamon. That's my motto with oatmeal as well

Posted using Partiko Android

This sounds almost like something that I would be able to do. They look delicious. Maybe I'll make my first baking attempt your cinnamon roll recipe.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97