You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Guest Author Series :: A Mental Illness That Actually Helps A Relationship? :: Celinka @binkyprod

Oh, oh, oh! What a brilliant post @binkyprod. It reminds me a lot of me and my partner who both suspect we are both on the C-PTSD scale.

What I love about this is how much love and understanding is shown by what is being hidden. To navigate communication and know how many rocks and rapids you're avoiding crashing into by what you're not doing ... its pretty cool.

And I'm so glad to have come across you, @museproject. Squee!

Sort:  

Thank you. The "not doing" is indeed as important as the doing part. Silent treatment, name-calling, rage talking doesn't help anyone. What's funny is that when I feel I need to rage talk, I go walking and mumble to myself. Then after, I'm all like "My love, I'm so sorry about the things I said while I was walking." But since we're both calmer by this time, he's like "it's ok". Sometimes I tell him what it was I was saying and it doesn't upset him. Because it's different to say that I said this or that and feel bad about it. Knowing our boundaries and when we need some "alone time to vent to ourselves" is important. It allows us to assess the situation at hand and to better appreciate each other afterwards without hurting each other in the process of those emotions being let out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64307.66
ETH 3146.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88