Breaking Out Of The Bubble In 2019steemCreated with Sketch.

in #resolution5 years ago (edited)

bubble.png

One of my New Year’s Resolutions was to increase my social media reach. My real reason behind wanting to do this is I’ve more or less peaked here on this platform. The population is not increasing by a lot these days and my efforts are not getting the kinds of engagement I’m wanting.

enjar.png

I’m at 1423 followers and have been in the range of 1420 for ages now. I have also engaged like a crazy person and I even run a community. Chances are if you don’t already know who I am you are not going to unless I think differently. This will also create another issue if you don’t have an account here in being able to reward content I share elsewhere. That is going be an issue to solve another day.

I’ve had https://twitter.com/EnjarTheCat for a while now but I almost never used it. Oddly enough on a couple of times, I have used it those posts seem to have gotten a little more than what I was expecting. My efforts, however, were always on Steemit.

Breaking the Steemit bubble to get more views and show the world there are other options out there is very important. I remember once a Twitch streamer from our Community @archdruid ask if he could share the discord link. People who joined from that link started reading posts from our community and really enjoyed them. Some of them also wanted to give creating content themselves a try. The net result was onboarding around 10 people in a month that our community took in and even answered the question they had along with helping them out.

twitter.png

For a little while now I’ve wondered what happened when I click that button in the bottom right and just went with it. I put no extra effort into it as I myself don’t use twitter very often and still need to learn more about it. I’ve just never been very big on using social media. I know I’m quite strange for my demographic but I’d rather be doing stuff then just managing a bunch of social media.

I did not add any hashtags or anything else to the window that pop up. I just went with it. I know I could have done better but I’m just testing things out. I was at least expecting it to take my tags and turn them into hashtags –it did not. All it did do is pull the articles title and add the word Steemit.

I also went out and followed a few that I know of or I enjoy else where on other platforms. Liked some content and left a reply or two as well.

A year ago before they removed the view counter I did not get a lot of views on my content. In fact, most of them were from me commenting back and forth with people and the counter going up every time someone came back to leave a comment.

stats.png

While I’m not 100% sure what “impressions” really means. I’m going guess people who at least have seen my tweet despite the fact I never used any hashtags. I can understand getting the part of 4 clicks on the link to send them here. I even got 1 upvote that I’m aware of from it. With the chance of others possibly coming in from that tweet as well. That 67 is also higher than anything I know I got before engaging with comments over a year ago on my average post. Granted I don't put much trust into that 67 number. I’m sure a few are just from me. Still, it’s just another chance to drive traffic to my content. I’m not willing to pay the high price to bidbots to escape the void for a few hours before just like all content being lost and forgotten about.

The amount of effort this took was less then what I put into a thoughtful comment. While I’ve had some reservations about trying to reach outside of our bubble. It’s time I start approaching things differently.

enjar.png

Now this leaves me with two issues. My branding will never be consistent elsehwere. I never knew this was, in fact, a real name. Heck, I made it years ago back when I use to play Eve Online. It’s a long story – Name Challenge: Enjar. The other monetization of the effort I put into what create. I put a lot of effort into what I do. That I’ll have to save for another day on working on.

Information

Screenshots were taken and content written by @enjar.

Sort:  

Hay, what an awesome resolution. Happy new year

I get what u say about limited audience. My off steem content gets very little attention here.

You have worked very hard here on steem. I see your curation efforts and community work

Some good news, there is a twitter steem tipping bot 😊

I too am moving back to traditional social media, the traffic one can get is, well so much better than on steem. But i have a website and i have intergrated steempress, so really instead of looking for an audience on steem, i will be brining my audience.

By sharing your posts on tradational social media you u will be putting more eyes on steem. If we all made these changes it would make a difference. And with all the new apps, opertunities are opening

Posted using Partiko Android

the traffic one can get is, well so much better

I’m looking forward to that. There some opportunity in the gaming industry that are starting to shape that I might be able to leverage one day. With YouTube and other platforms cracking down so hard when it comes to monetization and gaming (since it’s not “family friendly” content). Companies are going have to think differently in the long run. There also so many content creators out there. Trying work 1 on 1 with anyone but the biggest once is not particle for companies either. It’s also sad when I'm watching content on YouTube and I get gaming ads on non-gaming content with no ads on gaming content. Seems a bit backwards for both those content creators and the companies paying for those ads.

Part of my inspiration is the Steem Monster referral system. My last SM post was 28 days ago. In the past 22 days I’ve earned 44 Steem from referrals. Won’t always be that lucrative once the Steem price goes up but that is rather nice.

If my content can generate a little without me having to micromanaged everything and rely on upvotes. That to me seems like a win win.

wow thats not a bad payment from steem monsters, Im not a gamer, but I do have my son playing it.

I was not aware of YT cracking down on gaming, my son watches gamers all the time, but mostly the ones with millions of views anyway so I guess YT are making their money.
Do you stream on YT yourself?

I do not anymore as I’m not a very talkative person and I’m rather shy. So it’s just not a great match.

I think it might have been back in 2010 or 2013 (somewhere around then I made a few hundred video on YouTube. Had about $20 in ad revenue after 4 months or so.

Then a content ID troll (whatever it was called at the time) started to claim all videos from this one game I played. Claiming the gun shot sound was a match for a song he had copy rights too (there was no match in sound) I disputed and he refused to release claims. Telling the guy who claimed your video he was wrong is just a backwards systems why would they unclaim.

After some frustration with the guy I told him where he could stick it. He then started going after other gameplay footage I had uploaded with the same song claiming the rights to and the few cents in revenue they were making a month each. He wanted money to go away. There was nothing I could do so I deleted every single video I had created. I was not about to let all my video list his song in the descriptions and the few cents to go that person.

I did not have the money he wanted and I'm sure if I did the next day another one would have shown up anyways. I only had a few dozen subscribers so it's like it was worth YouTube or anyone else time to do anything.

I gave Twitch a try a few years later.I'm not very talkative person so it was just not a good match. Had a real creepy person showing up to one of my live streams and I stopped doing them since he came back 10 secs later with a new account.

This was a number of years ago so I might not be recalling everything 100% correct. I never collected a cent either since the amount was not wroth the banking fees and did not meet minimum withdrawal from AdSense at that time.

At least better then my first one hehe. . https://twitter.com/EnjarTheCat/status/1080968000763768832

I swore there use to be a bot that came around to support those who shared a link to their tweets of their content. That must have died or requires something else to call it in.

Definitely something to look into. I've felt for a while that my blog is getting stagnant in terms of views and engagement and I've thought of sharing it elsewhere as well but the problem is i'm not so active on other social media either...

I think as far as steemit and globally talking as we go, we should all reach and try to bring people to our content and in turn bring more people to the platform. Look at what @cancermage did when we just presented him with the opportunity of having a space where he could write, it just baffles me.

In any ways, we all win by sharing our content out there tbh and I really, really want to start breaking out of the bubble as well.

I really, really want to start breaking out of the bubble as well

Just click of a button and a twitter account and your off sharing content elsewhere! While this post so far on twitter4 got 0 link clicks. It has had 12 impressions (whatever that means). I bet that’s more then I’ve gotten on Steemit!

The branding, or whatever you call it, that noticed you for me initially was 'time-travelling cat'. I like cats, and back to the future - follow :)

I've moved 3 followers in as many weeks, don't worry, it's not just you!

An account your size I would have expected a lot more. Good to know many not moving much.

Hi @enjar!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.592 which ranks you at #1754 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 52 places in the last three days (old rank 1702).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 218 contributions, your post is ranked at #18.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I've been stuck around 1900 followers as well. Just thought I was gaining a lot of followers from OCD and since that has been extended hiatus, I just figured that's why I'm not getting as much attention/followers.

If you want to check out some crypto social media you can check out

Minds (android app that I know of. More like facebook type social media)
PiePie (android app formerly Lit where you earn Mithril, think instagram of crypto)
trybe.one (website steemit on EOS, seems to have very small active users)
Investfeed (website android app twitter of crypto with some article posting ability, might be an ERC 20 token not sure)

If you have any questions on any of those let me know. From what I've seen most are dead with the exception of piepie, but you could start cross posting and building your brand on some of those others while things are slow. If you do sign up for any of those others ones let me know as I have an account on everyone.

Minds

Not a huge fan of that site. They do have some amazing content creators over there as they have been showing up once in a while to Steemit. There still one from that site still active in the community. I think he even started posting first to Steemit before minds.

For now I'm just happy with twitter. Some of my tweets are already getting 50-100+ impressions and I’m getting a random link clicks as well. Not a lot but I feel it's more then I get on steemit as it is.

I would rather go a little main stream here and try to build something up. If I end up making a website that would be even better for me having more main stream connections. Not something I would think be worth the operations costs right now. It would cost more than my yearly gaming budget is going be for 2019. I doubt I’ll ever earn enough in ads to recover the cost. There might be other options down the road to generate income from game reviews. That stuff is very pre-alpha in development right now from my understanding.

I know there a dapp for running a website and posting it to steemit. It be nice to have some non-crypto source to help recover my gaming expenses at some point.

It was my plan to expand and recover my gaming budget and make hardware upgrades. I was hoping by now for some bigger growth and to be moving towards that very long term goal. After all the time I've invested over past 20 months I'm just not seeing it.

It's also a goal for the community to at least break even on game reviews that we never talk about either. If your spending $59.99 per triple A title and a lot of time. That just never going work out in the current state of things ever. Unless you are going the Dtube route which they either love you or they never upvote a thing you do. There are other options here on Steemit they just take a lot of time to start seeing results and are not the kind of content we are interested in.

Thanks for the ideas and info though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62858.15
ETH 3112.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90