GORE-TEX is Overhyped and Spreads Lies About Their Product

in #review5 years ago (edited)

GORE-TEX is SO overhyped. They are selling false claims that people buy into. I was one of them. but now I see the truth in reality.

What am I talking about?

Waterproof.

What does that mean?

It means, no water gets in. Right? Waterproof boots like rain boots made of rubber, those are actually waterproof.

But GORE-TEX isn't waterproof. Yet, they claim it is.


Source

They are spreading falsity, not just falsity, but lies, because there's no way they don't know their own product isn't actually waterproof.

I know they aren't waterproof because I've used their product and I see the truth revealed in reality. If you sell something waterproof, but water gets in and makes you wet, then that product isn't actually waterproof. It might be water resistant, but that isn't waterproof, now is it?

I bike, and it sometimes rains, but I still take my bike. Biking in rain will get your shoes wet, and hence, your socks and feet wet. I didn't want this. I thought the Omni-DRY "tech" from Columbia was falwed, and only GORE-TEX would "save" me from getting wet feet. I was wrong!

GORE-TEX hiking shoes like the Salomon OUTline GTX model, are NOT waterproof. Don't believe the hype about GORE-TEX. Don't spend the extra money on it. Other manufacturers who have their own falsely labeled "waterproof" lines are probably just as good, and cost less.

Lesson learned. I will stick to Columbia or North Face as I have for years before with their own type of water resistant products. GORE-TEX can go to hell :P


Thank you for your time and attention. Peace.


If you appreciate and value the content, please consider: Upvoting, Sharing or Reblogging below.
Follow me for more content to come!


Like what I do? Then consider giving me a vote on the Witness page :) Thanks!

My goal is to share knowledge, truth and moral understanding in order to help change the world for the better. If you appreciate and value what I do, please consider supporting me as a Steem Witness by voting for me at the bottom of the Witness page.


Posted from KURE

Sort:  

I have a goretex jacket and two bivvy bags. Correct, it isn't waterproof though it is water resistant and repellent enough. It's performance does degrade over time and does require a wash in something like tek-wax to restore it. My bivvy bags are milsurp so I wouldn't want to have them in heavy rain without a tarp.
Like you, I'd stay away from the shoes. My experience, usually watching others with failing goretex, is that water ingress happens around stress points - where the fabric is moved alot. For me, that would rule out almost all footwear except stiff boots or boots So expected to replace often. My hiking boots do have goretex membranes - which have performed well for me do far, but then I don't expect much from them, as in I'll cross a creek in them, but won't walk down the creek.
Mind you, unless I'm loaded up or going on scree, I prefer trail runner and Merino socks. Yeah, the feet get wet, but they stay warm and dry out fast enough. Easy enough to dry feet and change socks at a snack break anyway. I guess everyone figures out their own systems.

Posted using Partiko Android

Gore-TEX is sold to yuppie "hikers"
so... i never really cared about their over exaggeration of the capabilities.

But, anything that breathes, is not waterproof.

I bought into that hype at one point and bought hiking shoes stating that it was waterproof.

You know how it feels weird walking up a trail and you feet are wet inside your shoes and is uncomfortable and at times dangerous. Sometimes you can't stop and dry out your shoes or change socks especially if you have a timeframe to your climb you need to follow.

Never again will I buy such shoes.

I have always used military surplus and I get Goretex skins and stuff from them really cheap. They are pretty rugged, too but certainly not "waterproof". I have never seen their marketing, so I can't speak to that, but after probably 40 mins or so of heavy rain on the jacket or standing water around the boots, you start to feel wet.

On the flip side, the stuff does breath a bit and certainly feels a ton better than rubber and will dry inside and out fairly quickly.

They should just be straight with people. I think Goretex is a fairly useful product, but I'm paying like $70 bucks for military stuff that brands like Mountain Hardware sell for like $400-$500. I can certainly see why that would be aggravating.

My Gortex jacket that I bought 25 years ago is still pretty water resistant - putting it in the dryer regularly helps keep it working better (they need heat) - not perfect but 25 years is impressive!

Hi @krnel!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 7.071 which ranks you at #65 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 189 contributions, your post is ranked at #18.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Your follower network is great!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94