From Romania to Krakow – The Road to SteemFest

The Road to SteemFest.png

From Romania to Krakow

Oh God, we’re getting close, SteemFest3 is literally around the corner, only 16 days away; you have no idea how fast 16 days goes by, you’ll be at SF before you even realize it. But, do you have the whole trip planned? I mean, it’s a stupid question, right? We’re only two weeks away; it would be normal to have everything booked by now considering that you have your ticket but, do you really have everything planned? Not sure about you but, I don’t.

Yes, I have some plans about what I want to do at SF, like having a couple of drinks with Steemians, playing some poker, maybe even visiting Krakow, sleeping whenever I can, and most importantly, touching Ned’s hair. Also, there’s a new thing on my list, and that’s speaking at SF, it was officially announced by @roelandp in here; @alexvan and I are going to talk at the event but, more on that in another post.

Screenshot_1.jpg

I do have quite a couple of plans as you can see but, there’s one thing that’s missing from the whole equation, I am still not sure how I’m going to get to Krakow, and I suppose that’s quite an essential thing to figure out, right?

Getting There

You see, this is my biggest issue at the moment, getting to Krakow in time. Romania, as a country, has good connections with some of the biggest cities in Europe but, Krakow isn’t one of them. Moreover, my town has slim to no flights towards any part of Poland, so that’s not an option at all. I could go to another city from Romania, take a plane to Warsaw from there, and then take a bus or something to Krakow but, that’s not a great option either because those flights have a tight schedule as well.

I’m also trying to travel on a lower budget, partly because I want to save some money, and partly because instead of taking complicated plane trips that would end up costing me hundreds, I could go by car. I’m only 500km away from Krakow, which makes it ideal to go by car but, I don’t drive so I would have to get somebody to drive me there which would mean around 2000km of driving, and might end up costing me at least $200. It’s not so bad but, there are way cheaper options when it comes to traveling on wheels.

atlas-green-1507-unsplash.jpg

Photo by Atlas Green on Unsplash

So, why not take a crappy but, cheap bus, right? There are some routes on FlixBus, and I’m most certainly going to travel that way but, the thing is that not all of them are updated yet. I might be able to get to Krakow by either taking a bus or a train from my city to Budapest and then taking a bus from there to Krakow. Or, by going to another city "nearby” me, and then taking a more suited bus to Budapest, and later to Krakow. And, back home, I could either have a bus transfer in Vienna or Budapest and then get back to Romania.

I went today to check out some routes, and it looks like it might end up costing me somewhere around 80 euros round way, which is just a damn sweet price. I still have to figure out which are the best busses to take but, I am pretty sure that I’ll go with FlixBus if nothing better comes along until then.

Accommodation

Well, you see, this is the fun part actually since I’m sharing a house with a couple of epic Steemians. Now, some of you already know about it for quite a while, and some might have only found out recently but, most probably have no idea about this. But, yes, we found out a nice house, near the main hotel, @anomadsoul already booked it for us, we only have to send him some sweet crypto now to cover the rent for one week, from 6th to 13th.

This house might be the place where we will have some meetups prior and during the fest, but, we’ll have to find a right balance since some people might want to sleep so, we might end up exploring Krakow for a pub that can adopt us, which doesn’t sound too bad either.

TL;DR: I have some plans for SF, the accommodation, and the fun are already booked, I only have to figure out the best way to get to Krakow which is a bit of an issue since I’m living in Romania but, look at the bright side, I still have 16 days left to sort out everything.

Thank you for reading.

New Gif.gif

Sort:  

Damn, if it was 500 km for me, I'd be cycling there for sure! But with the current conditions and 1300 km, it's a bit too long ride with bicycle for me :(

But hey, at least there are hundreds and thousands of car drivers daily, so I'm sure I can get a few rides from kind souls :)

Looking forward seeing you, and your speech, man!

500km of cycling shouldn't take too long actually, it could be a fun thing to do but, I'm not the right person for such a challenge. :)))

Good luck with the hitchhiking, I hope you arrive on time. Looking forward to it as well.

I pay 135 €for the complete travel and this with the flight, so look again if it is really impossible with the plane because it is cheap.

Damn, 135€ is, indeed, cheap af for plane tickets! Yeah, I checked a couple of times, I even went to a travel agency, but there are no flights to Poland from anywhere near me. I'll probably end up taking the bus but, it doesn't sound too bad since I can visit other countries along the way. I think I'll spend a couple of hours in Budapest and Vienna.

I think there are also some german steemians that are going by car from Vienna maybe speak with them.

So I've heard. I'm only going through Vienna when I'm returning home tho. It wouldn't work anyway probably since I'm getting there one day earlier, and staying one day more after the event as well. :)

Epic journeys @guyfawkes4-20 and congrats on speaking at steemfest! It will be great to hear more about how you built the steemromania community.

I managed to score pretty cheap plane tickets from the UK mainly cause ryanair is like a staple to brits. Ha ha, without their cheap-ass fares I might have been in trouble for making it. God bless all those cheap-ass brits 😅

Looking forward to meeting in just under 2 weeks... that has really crept up now!

Haha, yes, may those cheap ass brits be always blessed! I can get cheap plane tickets for most big European cities tho, so, that must be worth something.

Cheers, looking forward to it as well. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64561.16
ETH 3244.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91