Road to Steemfest: Concerns

in #roadtosteemfest5 years ago

I was late to the game, but have been trying to keep up with @anomadsoul's weekly Road to Steemfest freewrites ever since! Have been getting to know so many others coming to SF3 along the way, it has been a great way to break the ice, especially for us first timers 😉

WhatsApp Image 2018-10-16 at 10.17.39.jpeg


This week is all about fears! I'm a bit late, but hopefully just in time again! I'm not a massive fan of the word fear, it somehow gives me the feeling like I'll end up manifesting it if I'm not careful! So for this, I will be using the word "concerns" instead 🙂

As I've mentioned in one of my precious Road to Steemfest freewrites, being a parent, if any emergency pops up with the kids when it's SF3 time, then it's bye bye time for me. Yes this is always a possibility, and because it's not the first time we've had to cancel a trip or holiday because of some sort of family situation, I've learnt to not have any expectations, and I never tend to "celebrate" anymore until I'm already physically there!

Let's hope I am meant to be at SF3 this year eh, I desperately wanted to go last year, but we were moving house that exact same week, so it was obviously not meant to be 😕


Most of my other concerns seem pretty minor. I'm lucky in the sense that quite a few of my friends are going, and these aren't just internet friends either. Being in/near London, I'm fortunate to be near where the meetups happen, so I have met a lot of steemians in person, and have become good friends with quite a few of them. The thought that a lot of them will be going to SF3, and have also been to SF1 or SF2, gives me a lot of comfort. I know that I will have people looking out for me, I know that I will always have a familiar face to go to.

Saying all of this, I am not the type who will just stick to people I know all the time. I really do love meeting new people, so if anything, it's more of a concern to me that maybe these new people will be unwilling to meet me! I sometimes imagine that some people on the platform are only interested in talking to you if you are more "known", and being quite a small fish, I have prepared myself to be shut down by at least 1 or 2 people who are just not interested in talking to me because I am a "nobody". I hope I am totally wrong of course 😉

I've slowly but surely sorted out most of the aspects of the trip, just need to work out the cab ride from the airport in Krakow to the apartment, and sort out the winter clothes to bring (when we're more sure what the weather will be like those few days), need to sort out some insurance stuff, and transfer money into my favourite travelling card, my Monzo Card, and I'm pretty much good to go 🙂

Tomorrow marks my 1 week count down until I fly, so I will be prepping the kids and doing a count down with them, so they can't say they weren't warned! And my biggest concern of all is the mom guilt I might feel while I'm gone. I know the kids will miss me when I'm gone, I will miss them a shit ton too. I will be video chatting with them when I can, making them videos saying good night, reading them stories, all that jazz. But the thought of them crying because they miss me does make my heart tug. I know that this is good for us though, this trip will be good for me and will fill my cup up a bit hopefully, the space will make us all miss and appreciate each other more, so the pros definitely outweigh the cons 😉

So hopefully, hopefully, hopefully, I will see you all in just over a week!! I'm containing my excitement for now!!

Have a great week guys!

Much Love from Red


Meet me at SteemFest 2018 in Kraków

Sort:  

I see you as a "star" on the platform. The Steemfest wouldn't be the same without you there. :)

Awww thanks man, very much appreciated! I won't be winning any awards anytime soon, like some people ahem :P but I do hope I manage to bring some fun and good times to the table :)

You bought many of us our first steem-powered drinks @redrica and made Steem real for us. You're basically a super hero.

So funny I keep forgetting I did that hahha!! Was such a good idea and got so many of you to come out pats myself on my back haha :P thanks to the major effort of @ultravioletmag, @teodora and so many others helping to promote it too though obvs! We should totally do another big London meet up / party again soon :D

I can't imagine anyone "not" wanting to say hello to you ate... associating faces to usernames is quite fun!
You all guys going, teo winning..am pretty much envious.
Fingers crossed those two will be great without momi xoxo

Awww thanks Ate... was really hoping to experience SF with you and Penny as well, you two will be so missed :(

That woman is stubborn and should have come lols
Imagine me around ate...especially during your bday party. I want a red pls.
Enjoy kayo.

Haha busy career woman na kasi ;)

Will definitely be thinking of you Ate <3 <3

Very busy yeah..i think she can't get away as she have been travelling a lot?

Looking forward to it! I'm so excited for this! We'll have a blast!

Definitely! When do you arrive?

I get in on Wednesday early afternoon then heading straight to DDaily Mansion to check in, then I'm free to meet and mingle. Can't wait!

Ahhh I heard about this DDaily mansion from @adetorrent! Hope it's as fun as it sounds :)

I wondered if you knew Adé when you were talking about London meetups on the show last night. He's a cool guy!

Yea he's one of the regulars! Cool guy is a stretch though hahah :P

hahahahhahaha love this

The only reason I am "known" is my pink hair. I am not very important either. We can hang out together and get embarrassingly drunk! I haven't figured out transport from airport to airbnb either, but since I am traveling with @mrlightning, I might opt for public transport, if it's available.

Uh come on now... you are known for a bit more than just your pink essence ;) We will absolutely be doing a lot of hanging out and getting pissed, that's for sure! When do you guys arrive??

7th in the morning-noon.

See you soooooooon! Big hug to come, Lady Pink!!

Hi @redrica. I heard you speaking on the recording of the MSP UK meet up with @pennsif. Unfortunately, I had to go very early in the show but I spoke a bit right at the beginning.

Be good to chat at steemfest if we bump into each other. If you hear a scouse (Liverpool) accent that will be me ;-)

Ah cool thanks for telling me! Shame I couldn't get on the show sooner..

Absolutely hope to meet you at SF3, if you come to the Oracle-d talk on Thurs the 8th, I'll definitely see you there :)

I should still be around the place when Oracle-d go on. I'm part of the team presenting for curie earlier that day. Safe journeys :-)

Oh cool! I plan on catching the Curie talk so will see you then at least! See you soon :)

I am a small minnow myself so is the majority of us, a shoal of minnows likely.
I have same kind of como concern but I am happy enough to meet some people I know, some bigger accounts wont know who I am lol and it is ok lol

Yea it'll be great as it is :) Are you feeling ready? Will you have to bring lots of equipment?

I only bring a case, a drum and some flutes @roelandp will hire a keyboard for me so my set is going to be super simple but hopefully intimate, already aware I may need an extra suitcase will sort that out the following days.
@gtg found a very cheap harp rental but I don't think I'm going to mess carrying a big harp around because performers have a limited time of 30 to 40 minutes unless another plan comes on the way. It will be humble but pretty hopefully. @hedac will be there to help me too.

Sounds great!! Looking forward to it :)

Congratulations @redrica! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 23000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 24000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @redrica!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.278 which ranks you at #2565 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 10 places in the last three days (old rank 2555).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 490 contributions, your post is ranked at #26.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11