Alice in Wonderland Syndrome — Curiouser and Curiouser!

in #science6 years ago (edited)

Alice in Wonderland (Wikipedia)

Have you ever been sleepy and trying to concentrate on something, perhaps reading a book in bed as you begin to drift off to sleep, when things suddenly started to get a little strange? Have parts of your body grown to enormous proportions, or have objects in the room suddenly appeared to be impossibly far away? If so you may be one of the small number of people who have experienced Alice in Wonderland Syndrome.

Curiouser and Curiouser

Alice in Wonderland Syndrome (AIWS) is a neurological condition that alters the perception of space, time and body image. People experiencing AIWS will commonly report the feeling that parts of their body have altered in shape and size, particularly the head and hands. This range of experiences, known as ‘dysmetropsia’, can be broken down into four categories. Micropsia is the sensation that objects are smaller than they actually are, whilst Macropsia is where objects feel larger. Likewise Pelopsia is where objects appear nearer than they really are, whilst Teleopsia is (you guessed it!) when they feel much farther away. AIWS sufferers report these symptoms in various combinations, creating their own unique brew of perceptual distortions. For some, their lack of spatial perspective is accompanied by a loss of their sense of time — with time (and their own movements) either feeling like it is being fast-forwarded, or passing incredibly slowly, akin to during a psychedelic experience.

The following case studies from psychiatrist Dr John Todd in 1955 provides an interesting insight into the condition:

“She complained of recurrent attacks during which she feels that her body is growing larger and larger until it seems to occupy the whole room. “I feel,” she said, “that I have got so big that if I put out my hand I could touch the far wall.’ Less frequently, she feels that she is getting smaller, “shrinking up completely”, and that her hands will “drop off and disappear.”

“These consisted in a recurrent feeling that he was much taller or shorter than was actually the case. Sometimes he felt that he was eight feet tall, but at other times he felt as though he had shrunk to a mere three feet. In addition, he was often conscious of a feeling that his head was “twice its normal size and as light as a feather” or that one or other of his arms was missing.”

Although AIWS is associated with certain neurological diseases, it is typically a temporary condition that many people will experience during childhood, which naturally wears off over time. Whilst it can be debilitating for some sufferers, particularly if episodes occur frequently and unpredictably, this appears to be relatively rare. However, most frequently it is reported at the onset of sleep, with many people only ever reporting it when they are particularly tired. Evidence suggests that AIWS may actually much more common than we realise.


Lewis Carroll and Migraines

AIWS is often associated with migraines, with some hypothesising that it is simply a form of migraine aura. In 1955, psychiatrist Dr John Todd discovered that several of his AIWS patients experienced severe migraine headaches or had migraine in their family history. Todd speculated that as Lewis Carroll was famously known as a migraine sufferer who experienced visual disturbances, he may have used his own experiences as inspiration for Alice’s journeys in Wonderland. Whilst there is no direct evidence to confirm this, there are some indications in Alice in Wonderland that do appear to support the theory. For example, in one section of the book Alice is blinded by moonlight — a possible reference to the light sensitivity of the migraineur — and of course the famous scene with the caterpillar and the mushroom in which Alice becomes larger and smaller:

Caterpillar on a Mushroom (Tom Simpson)

“In a minute or two the Caterpillar took the hookah out of its mouth and yawned once or twice, and shook itself. Then it got down off the mushroom, and crawled away in the grass, merely remarking as it went, ‘One side will make you grow taller, and the other side will make you grow shorter.’ ‘One side of what? The other side of what?’ thought Alice to herself. ‘Of the mushroom,’ said the Caterpillar, just as if she had asked it aloud; and in another moment it was out of sight.”

Although this is a tempting theory, it has to be noted that there are also plenty of things that happen in Alice in Wonderland that bear no resemblance to Carroll’s life. I’m guessing he never fell down a rabbit hole, played croquet with a flamingo or saw a baby turn into a pig, so why should we assume that Alice’s size alterations are anything more than a fantastical tale? I often wonder whether people tend to overanalyse the “strangeness” of Wonderland, particularly when they incorrectly attribute its creation to Carroll’s supposed experimentation with LSD — which was first synthesized almost 75 years after Alice in Wonderland was published!


What’s happening in the brain?

Although surprisingly little research has been carried out on AIWS, there is one reported case in which a 12 year old girl was scanned in an fMRI machine during an episode. In her case, episodes were triggered by concentrating hard on a printed page, so in order to replicate this, neurologist Dr. Sheena Aurora used a black-and-white checkerboard pattern to mimic the black-and-white printed page. This technique was successful, and once inside the machine it was evident that there was a burst of electrical activity and increased blood flow in the areas of the brain responsible for vision, texture, size and shape, particularly the parietal lobe, which processes our perceptions of the environment.


My Experiences

This syndrome is of particular interest to me, as I experience a mild form of AIWS from time to time. Since childhood it has been an ordinary part of being sleepy, and growing up I reasoned that as I got increasingly tired these perceptual alterations were simply an indication that my brain was beginning to shut down, as I drifted towards sleep. I never found them alarming, only ever intriguing, and I would do my best to extend them as much as I could to have fun with them! I assumed that this was something everyone experienced until it came up in conversation when I was much older. I also suffer from migraines and didn’t learn of the connection until relatively recently, although for me they do not appear to be predictive or occur concurrently.

Reading when I am tired is a pretty consistent trigger, and on the whole it’s just a matter of time before it will occur. Although it feels like a mental trick of perspective, for me it’s definitely not purely related to visual perception, as the feeling persists whether my eyes are open or closed. It’s more related to how my body feels. During these episodes, everything feels huge (both my own body and my surroundings) but it’s impossible to tell whether things are very close or very far away — it is almost both simultaneously! My body feels like that of a concrete giant, as if I am made of stone; heavy and slow. One moment I’ll be laying right beside my other half in the dark having an ordinary conversation, my hand just inches away from hers, and then the next moment it feels at once as if myself and the entire contents have become enormous and are crowding the room, but that even if I stretched out my arm fully it would be impossible to reach her hand. I can shake off this feeling by walking around and waking up a little, but most often I just enjoy the feeling as a curiosity — almost like a free psychedelic trip. I can understand how terrifying and disorienting this must be when it occurs so frequently or uncontrollably, but in this mild form I enjoy it as an insight into a different mode of consciousness.

Have you experienced anything similar? I’d be really curious to learn if this is more widespread than previously thought and about the different ways it might manifest, so please share your experiences below!

(This post is my own original content. All references and image sources are linked to within the text.)


Thanks for reading

I will continue to publish similar content in the upcoming weeks, so be sure to follow if you'd like more posts about philosophy, cosmology and consciousness. This post was also published on Medium, and any future content I create will be posted on both platforms. If you want to follow me elsewhere you can find me at:

Sort:  

This was fascinating to me. I am a huge fan of Lewis Carrol / Alice in Wonderland but had never heard the possible relation between AIWS and the content of Alice. Tying this in to your own experience elevated this beyond just the normal "here is a summary of an article posted elsewhere" kind of posting (which really doesn't add much value - typically just reading the original article gives you more info!) and takes this into the realm of really original work. Great job! I for one am really glad you are cross posting here on Steemit at the same time you are posting elsewhere, and providing a link back here. This is exactly what is suggested to be done by some very influential organizations here, including Steemcleaners/Cheetah (Cheetah is a bot that catches plagiarizers - Cheetah has a white list specifically for authors that cross post content here on Steemit at the same time as elsewhere and provide link backs) and Curie (an organization that upvotes truly outstanding content and does indeed support authors that cross post their material here and elsewhere as long as it is posted here while still fresh).

Great article! Very happy to have found you, following!

Cheers - Carl

Thanks very much, this kind of feedback really means a lot to me. I really enjoy adding my personal spin on things :) I hope there are others who experience AIWS that find this as well, so we can hear their insights too. I'm yet to meet anyone else to be able to discuss it with!

I just have signed on & this was the first post today i have read.
My son told me a year ago that this happens to him once in awhile
I was at first totally amazed then scared then curious .
This is the first i have read about this
Thank you

Thanks for the comment :) It sounds a bit scary when you describe it, did he enjoy it or find it unpleasant?

No he wasnt scared he just said that when it happens it goes away in a minute or two & since he had this happen for a few years on& off( he will be 15 next week )that it doesnt bother him....

I was about to upvote this but I see you have also published at medium, which ranks first on google, making this essentially a duplicate article (even if its yours) from a search engine's perspective. I (and I think many people) appreciate and upvote when somebody posts here first. If you want to post in other places it's your right to do so, but I don't think you can expect good rewards for just copy-pasting something that you posted first somewhere else. Something to have in mind ;)

https://medium.com/@ongoingwow/alice-in-wonderland-syndrome-curiouser-and-curiouser-9934034965b4

This post was posted simultaneously on both platforms (actually the Steemit post was posted a few minutes earlier, so that I could link to it at the bottom of the Medium article) It's not like I was trying to hide this, I even mentioned it at the end of my post above?

I understand wanting to avoid plagiarism, but I think it should be acceptable for an author to want to share their work as widely as possible?

As I said, it's your right to do so.

The thing is that according to google the one that appears to be original is the one posted to medium. To google's eyes the post on steemit is copy pasted and the one on medium is the original. Google doesn't like this (steemit get's a minus point in layman terms).

Put things down, see which platform makes you the most money (or offers you more exposure or whatever else you seek) and then choose that platform to post there first. Wait a few hours and once the steemit article is indexed on google then post on the other platform too (or vice versa).

I know that my comment might have sounded a bit assholish. Believe me, I am on your side ;)

Oh okay, I didn't realise that. If a few hours delay is all it takes to make a difference, then I'll be more than happy to do so if that will help Steemit grow. I can just cross post to Medium the following day.

I'm just starting out, so I'm trying to spread my work as far as possible to grow my audience that's all. Thanks for letting me know.

thanks for your understanding! I will give your post some love and share it around ^__^

I think in this case I will have to disagree as the author actually included a link back to Steemit in the post on Medium. Cross posting is fine, particularly if the content is being posted at the same time and the links go both ways. Typically when you see people complaining about cross posting being bad for Steemit, it is in the case when a link to Steemit was NOT provided in the content posted elsewhere. Search engines like to see links back, it strengthens Steemit's relative position. In this case it is a wash as the links go both ways and content was posted at same time. In fact, I would like to see people ENCOURAGED to post content at the same time here on Steemit as they post elsewhere, and ENCOURAGED to leave a link back to Steemit at the other site. This is what we want to see, in my opinion. It is when people only post content on Steemit after it has grown stale elsewhere, and they don't have a link back to Steemit in the content elsewhere, that it is bad for Steemit. The fact that Google is ranking the result on Medium higher is just a function of the relative popularity/traffic of the websites. If more people posted content here at the same time, and linked back here, it will boost Steemit in the search rankings.

The fact is that because he crosslinked each site to the other steemit will most probably never be recognized as the original for this particular article. This particular page is recognized as duplicated content, and google's algorithm doesn't care if it's from the same author. It's bad from a seo perspective regardless of how you see it.

We can either toss a coin and pray google indexes an article on steemit first, or just ask people to post here first with 3-4 hours difference. I don't see any benefit for the author by posting simultaneously on multiple platforms. His reach will be pretty much the same. But there is benefit for steemit, because these 3-4 hours will rank it first as original, as the "relative popularity/traffic " won't matter at all. The thing is medium is probably crawled more often (due to relative popularity/traffic as you mentioned). And I think it's fair for people to post their stuff on steemit first. I doubt this post would get in any other platform (medium, hubpages, or even a self published site with adsense or other monetization) 50 $ :)

yeah ultimately you are right that there is little to no drawback to posting here first and waiting even a day to post elsewhere. I am not convinced that this makes much difference to the Google rank one way or the other - far more important is if there is a link back on the external site, and you see people all the time posting content here and elsewhere without a link back to steemit on the other sites - that is obviously much worse. But yeah, no reason not to post here first.

yeah, my bad to forgot to mention. Original content is good, getting backlinks from other good platforms is equally good too.

So much for me to learn, SEO is a whole new world for me! Sounds like the best option is for me to delay my Medium cross post by one day and to link back to Steemit in that post to try and bring traffic back here.

And very true, this is the first time I've been paid $50 for writing anything online! I'll try and keep it up! :D

well you don't really have to learn and it won't help much if you don't run your own site :)

Just post good content like you do and I am sure money will continue to come ;)

Definitely don't plan on running my own site now Steemit exists! Thanks @trumpman :)

Thanks for clarifying @carlgnash. I think we're all on the same page here - i.e. all trying to do what's best for Steemit! If you're sure that cross-posting and linking back to Steemit is the best way forward, I'll carry on as I am. I also cross post to Twitter, but only link to the original Steemit article, so hopefully that is helping too.

from a seo perspective, if you are posting simultaneously it would be better to leave a link from medium to steemit but not the other way around. This way the google bot will know you recognize steemit as the "original" place you posted it. If you time your posts with a few hours in between, it doesn't really matter whether you cross link, provide only one link or whatever :)

Interestingly, it seems like (in my experience) Google doesn't index Steemit results very well and when it does it takes longer to show up in the results than for other sites. Most likely a result of the accumulation of so much plagiarized crap and content posted here and elsewhere with no link backs - but as a Curie curator myself, I am constantly Googling random paragraphs from articles to make sure that they are not plagiarized, and it is very rare for Google to pop up with the Steemit post in the results even if the post is nearly 1 day old. I would say, without having tracked the stats, that I see the Steemit post in the Google search results less than a quarter of the time even when a post is 12-23 hours old. That is why I say I am not sure that posting here and delaying for a few hours before posting elsewhere will make any difference. Possibly waiting a full day might. But for whatever reason, Google doesn't index Steemit results very well or very fast.

well i do curating for steemstem so I am doing the same thing you do. For me, google appears to be a fast indexer (at least for #science) and it does return to me steemit posts as the first result, at least when I am puting the text inside "" , even for posts that are a few minutes old :P

Maybe we should take this elsewhere if you want (e.g. steemit.chat) because we really made a mess of this post's comments XD




@carlgnash from the @humanbot Human Certified Original Works Initiative has manually determined this post to be the original work of the post author. To learn more about this certification visit the Badge of Originality genesis post:
https://steemit.com/art/@carlgnash/the-badge-of-originality-human-certified-original-works
and see also @carlgnash's totally unofficial mission statement:
https://steemit.com/curation/@carlgnash/what-human-certified-original-works-means-to-me-a-totally-unofficial-mission-statement-from-just-one-person-in-a-decentralized

Thanks for being an original content creator! You rock!

For a moment I thought I had been awarded a badge by a bot for being an official human, and had a little laugh to myself :D Then I read it properly and am very honored, thanks very much @carlgnash!

@humanbot is a bot in name only, it is my robotic extension for some projects that I didn't want cluttering up my main blog. There are more cool initiatives in the works coming up from @humanbot, stay tuned :) - Carl (@carlgnash)

Cool, I'll follow!

Following upvoted resteemed

Thank you :)

wow very nice pic

That's strange, my comment got cut off, sorry about that! I meant to say that the original Alice in Wonderland illustrations are really beautiful! :)

Yeah, the original Alice in Wonderland

That was something worth reading. Amazing content ,earned me as a follower. Upvoting regularly- guaranteed !

Thanks very much :) hope to publish again soon

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 62177.56
ETH 2918.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66