You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Honey cures hay fever: Fact or fiction?

in #science6 years ago

Thank you, molometer. For this post and also debunking supposed debunkers. I do get allergies and could probably get my hands on some local honey. It would easily cost me more than ten dollars but then so does the allergy medicine and it doesn't work all that well. Vancouver has really worked hard at maintaining our bee population. The truth though, I do not have much a sweet tooth and I find honey too strong tasting for this reason ... but ... I like mead. Do you think mead would work? We have a great local meadery.

Sort:  

From my research I have a formulated this theory.

Locally produced honey contains the pollen that you would be exposed to in that location and so your immune system has a chance to create antibodies by identifying the weakened pollen that has been through the gut of several bees.

In the process of partial digestion maybe the pollen spores are damaged and easier for the immune system to defend against.

Unfortunately this theory doesn't include tree or weed pollen?

It's a work in progress.

There is a precedent. Wherever I travel in the world. One of the first things I try to eat is the local yogurt.
It contains all the local bacteria and by doing this; you never get an upset digestive system.

There are so many charlatans, pseudo scientists and crooks on the web.
You can spend years trying to help and educate the public.
I know.
I have been doing it for years.

That is clever ... I am curious why wouldn't it work with tree and weed pollen?

I should qualify my statement.

"Unfortunately this theory doesn't include tree or weed pollen?"

(A)"It is to do with the pollination method used by some" trees

(B)"Agricultural intensification has led to the decrease of the diversity of wild and domestic pollinators"
Weeds

Thanks for your interesting question @prydefoltz I hope this data clarifies my theory.
The use of weedkillers has changed the amount of weed pollen captive bees can access.

That would make sense with some trees ... but it is worth a try for sure ... I am think honey, lemon and ginger tea ... will hit the spot:)

I never heard that about the local yoghurt. That’s a tremendously advantageous bit of advice!

It works a treat as your immune system gets a boost from the new culture.

As you indicate, the allergy medicine costs add up and quickly exceed the cost of that $10 jar of honey. My son eats honey on his pancakes and with his peanut butter, etc. The jar that costs you $10 Canadian dollars probably costs around $14 here, but lasts around three months or more. But, the bottle of allergy pills costs $12 for 60 once daily generic pills – the same quantity of the brand name is over $20 USD.

Also, if you use with hot foods, not only do you need less to get that sweet taste, but the taste is smoother when it’s hot. It’s also terrific with cinnamon (and ginger and lemon, especially in tea). I make cinnamon toast for Gray by just spreading honey on the bread and dusting it with cinnamon, then toasting it on the low setting, under the broiler for a couple of minutes. We like it better than butter and brown sugar cinnamon toast (the standard in the South).

Alright, you two ... I am sold. I will seek out some lovely honey:)

An easy-peasy recipe for fruit compote: Just dice a cup or so of your favorite fruit into a saucepan, add a tablespoon of honey, a pinch of salt, and simmer until the fruit is the mixture is bubbling gently. Taste test for your desired sweetness about half way through and add a bit more if desired.

Honey is much better at enhancing the natural sweetness of fruit than refined sugar, I think. While nice and warm, the compote is perfect on English muffins, French toast, pancakes, waffles, beignets, ect. And, if you cook it down enough and refrigerate it, you can even use it instead of packaged jams and jellies on PB&J sandwiches or toast. It’s never lasted more than a couple of days in my house, but I’m sure it would keep a couple of weeks in the fridge.

Sounds heavenly but for someone else ... never been a fan of sweet compotes, jams and jellies. The only jam I can somewhat tolerate is raspberry jam because it has a lots of texture and is a bit tart ... I'll just put it in my tea I think. I wonder also if the honey can't be cooked to a high temperature because that would denature the proteins that help with the allergies.

IDK if heat does that to the honey

You have nailed it @momzillanc the economics alone makes honey the clear winner.
Local honey contains naturally produced antihistamines and more appropriate for local pollen conditions.
The toast sounds lovely :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 56858.44
ETH 2919.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60