You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tree of Life: End of the Line

in #science6 years ago (edited)

The endangering of our littermates is less dire than the actual extinctions that have occurred amongst our ilk in the genus Homo. Denisovans and Neanderthals seem not really to be species separate from H. sapiens, but subspecies or races. Not really sure about H. floriensis (hobbits), but they seemed to not inject themselves into our genepool, and also seem worthy of their own bit of the world, Flores (which they could share with dragons! I kinda like the idea of Hobbits, Dragons, and Giants having a place in our world).

I suspect I am more than 4% Neanderthal, actually. Denisovans seem to have made a giant impact on folk from N. America to Micronesia (like Heidelbergensis the remains we have of them appear to have regularly exceeded two meters in height).

But the power to restore extinct species also looks to be falling into our grasp and the loss of our closest relatives might be one of the likeliest to rectify first, as we have so much of their DNA in our own veins. Given the survival of so much Neanderthal and Denisovan DNA, and that none of H. floresiensis seems to have made it, do you think bringing back Neanderthals as a species has merit? I do see that H. Floresiensis does, as, again, they seemed to be pretty much confined to Flores, and didn't make the melting pot H. s. sapiens turns out to be.

Just curious, as I sure don't want to tolerate the loss of the presently endangered and likely to be lost primates you list. Hobbits seem meretricious as well. Given technology and how easily we can improve our development that has mostly been the cause of extinctions, I see that many species once considered forever extinct may be merely temporarily on hiatus.

Thanks!

Edit: development has been the cause of most of the extinctions that can be laid at the feet of Humans, I should say, not all extinctions.

Sort:  

Hey @valued-customer
Here's a tip for your valuable feedback! @Utopian-io loves and incentivises informative comments.

Contributing on Utopian
Learn how to contribute on our website.

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

I'll have to find time to look into Utopian more deeply, as I originally thought it to be something for devs, and I am not a coder.

Thanks!

Hi thanks for the detailed, well-thought response. I believe I am likely to be part neanderthal too, and this is one reason I don't think we should bring them back.

They didn't go extinct as a result of some thoughtless thing we did, they were simply bred away into the final result that is us. I am for bringing back animals that we are entirely responsible for unnecessarily wiping out, but otherwise, I see no merit other than experimental curiosity, which I don't think life should be used as a tool as such - especially if something as sentient as a neanderthal.

On the other hand, if it was something like a mammoth which seems like one of the more likely experiments to bring back, I think this is ok and does have some scientific merit. There is space and in fact, much of their previous environment is still somewhat intact. Create a space for them and I see little problem with this. But Neandethals, nah. Let them exist in the past with dignity

I completely agree, except I want the giant drumsticks that bringing back T. rex would provide =p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63572.52
ETH 3097.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88