The SEO of Steemit.com

in #seo6 years ago (edited)

seo-idea-lightbulbs-ss-1920.jpg

I thought it would be cool to revisit something that few people pay attention to:

How well does an article written on steemit.com ranks on the search engines?

Let's jump into it and look at the data shall we?

The Authority of Steemit.com

Here are 2 basic set of data to tell us how "authoritative" steemit.com is on the search engine:

how popular is steemit.jpeg

The job of Alexa is to rank websites by the amount of visitors it gets. The search engines take that into account. I wouldn't be surprised next year to attain the top 500 when the roll out of community happen.

moz1.jpeg

I've been keeping an eye on the MOZ metric for more than a year and Steemit.com domain authority keeps moving up.

What does it mean for you? What does it mean for steemit.com?

It means that when you publish an article, your article as a higher chance to get visibility on the search engine than if you wrote on your own website. For anyone who's a niche blogger, just blogging here gives you an edge over the competition...EVEN if you don't make money on your articles with upvote rewards.

So now that we know that our articles are so much easier to rank, how do we get Dofollow links to external websites?

Do-Follow Links

Do-Follow Links are really valuable, especially from a website like ours. So are all the links on steemit.com Do-Follow? Nope! Too bad for those link spammers who would like to suck all the SEO juice out of steemit.com

Steemit Inc was smart and they made a rule that for the article to have do-follow links enabled it has to have a certain amount of vote weight behind it. Something around $10 of value last time I checked. (don't quote me on the exact number)

So if some smarty-pants wanted to get Do-Follow links he would either have to buy 50,000 STEEMPOWER to upvote his own post OR actually write that the community want to read about and upvote for.

Conclusion

Steemit.com seems to have a lot of long-form content. Not only that, we have a crazy level of engagement with a lot of comments (which adds to the length of the post).

This is the amount of new post created every day on steemit.com

screenshot-steemdata.com-2017-12-17-08-56-35-232.jpeg

All of those articles have a chance of ranking on the search engine for different keywords. The more of them ranks, the higher the numbers of visitors to the website we get. (# of visitors to the website is definitely picking up in the last month). This all creates a virtuous cycle of added reach.

No other cryptocurrency has something like it powering it's influence across niches and interests. This is why, in my opinion, I have no doubt that in the 3-5 years ahead of us, with more websites being built on top of steem with similar success, that we could have in aggregate the biggest social media hub in the world...$100 per STEEM is not a pipe-dream at this point.

Sort:  

Steem offers things that other platforms and social media lag. The way we interact with one another here , it is more educational . I gotta day ,it was the best decision joining 6 months ago . Steem has a lot of potential and I can see the $5 mark of Steem coming soon

Why not more? Steem is extremely undervalued. It should be hitting 6$ only by following bitcoin's price action.

So if some smarty-pants wanted to get Do-Follow links he would either have to buy 50,000 STEEMPOWER to upvote his own post.
it a big digit of 50000 steem power buy for them but what they smarty want i hope it will be a good decion from steem about them @cryptoctpus...i think soon steem rise up more more value and the price unit digit move up to 100$..and this is possible soon if u see the steemit value as compare to other blockchains and the oppurtunities from steemit

$100 per STEEM is not a pipe-dream at this point.

Nice. I wouldn't argue with you at all.

HODL then...am a patient person. Cheers!

Let's cheers it up
With y'all

wooow I see that steemit.com is ranked 1971 globally and 963 is USA.
this is very huge actually, and I believe this is only the beggining of something that will change how social works.
We will see the steemit.com on Alexa ranking in the most visited websites globally very soon, Perhaps this is a platform that pays us for our opinions, what else we want more than that.
Amazing you shared a great info.
I will resteem your post because I love it.
Cheers.

Great post, SEO info is great

And steem just reached half a million users!

Is there a party planned for the one million user milestone? Technology grows exponentially and Steem grew to 500,000 users to date. That is approximately 21 months since Steemit was launched in March 2016. The Wikipedia article claims there were 170,000 users as of May, 2017

170,000 users in first 14 months.
330,000 users in last 7 months.

We should see approximately 650,000 new users in the next 3 months if this pattern continues.

Yeah, social websites tend to grow exponentially, so I have no doubt that we get even more new users than the number you calculated ;) I think the incrising value of Steem and SBD will also attract a lot of new people here.

I've read that only 30 000 active (it's actually cool).

You are right. We reached half a million total accounts. Its just a simbolic mark, what really matters is the numner of active accounts! But I think its pretty cool thar we reached that before the end of the year!

It's symbolic, but it's still nice to be able to celebrate milestones like this one! All websites have problems with low retention rate, and while Steemit's retention rate is a bit too high, it's still a nice number to reach.

@valth
Yeah, I was pretty frustrated with steemd.com, then while researching a steem api to get the data that I was looking for, I found this website! And they also have some charts at:
https://steemdata.com/charts

Oh nice, those look great! Now I don't need to check out the daily reports that I read all the time here on Steemit anymore.

Still ~40 Millions Pageviews per month.

Where can one see the number of registered accounts?

You can usually find it at https://steemd.com/distribution, but it is down for maintenance right now..

@oyvindsabo, @valth
steemd/distribution its always down for maintance! I recomend using https://steemdata.com/stats

Oh, I didn't know that. I remember using it maybe 6 months ago, but just found it again for this post. But thanks for linking me to a working site! :)

well when some one have a high power they should always have some thing n there hands for sure they will have success in there hands

This is an interesting take on it. I agree, no other crypto has something with creatives and specific interests helping power it.

The first blockchain backed by intuition.

I always found your work to be fascinating. You've reached success here on Steemit far outside of what some people might even dream of, like myself. I still struggle to get myself to start writing all my ideas, guides, tips, or just views on the crypto space, but I lack the motivation I think.

Anyway, I think I've also followed a few other posts of yours related to SEO, and I try to improve my SEO skills with every post I make, as I try to post some shitty daily price updates, with nice graphics :))

Anyway, keeping my thoughts short ... thank you so much for all your content, ideas and information! Keep it up man! You've been on my SteemVoter rules for some time now and for good reason.

I wrote an article this week on steemit moving into the top 2000 on alexa, I had been watching it for a while and thought it was quite a big milestone...i think you are spot on with your predictions...

He did, I read it.

Congratulations! What is your strategy?

I have given day trading a go but now just gonna HODL....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63898.89
ETH 3129.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90