Sepia Saturday.....

Back in the day ( the days way before me...)..... There were not so many large grocery stores in small towns and cities, so there were small stores here and there spread throughout the neighborhoods. My Great Grandfather, Carey Webster use to own one.

Webster036.jpg

Another one with his grocery truck in front of the little store.

sepia.jpg

Here he is with Great Grandmother, Lenor, on a bridge, although I have no idea where this bridge is. :) A little dot on the photo makes him look like he is wearing one earring...... WAY before his time?..... but no..... just a photo blip. LOL !

Cheek119sepia.jpg

Later in life in their home. I know where that is...... although someone else lives there now.

Cheek045sepia.jpg

It almost looks like love.

Cheek287cropped.jpg

Last but not least , some miscellaneous family members on my Great Grandmother's side . I posted this for us women mostly...... to help us appreciate the washing machines inside our homes. LOL !! I am ever so glad this is not how I have to do laundry every week. I did not change anything on it. I thought it was almost sepia enough.

Cheek059sepia.jpg

The good old days ???? I dunno !

I made this post for #sepiasaturday hosted by @old-guy-photos

Hope your Saturday has gone well. Mine has gone well, but my wifi has been off most of the day. Seems lightening took it out for a while. It was kind of like prehistoric times....LOL....

Loooove Yaaaaa.....

Jacey

*do something fun ! *

Sort:  

Great old photos! Those little stores were so important to neighborhoods. I don't remember anyone washing clothes like that, but my grandmother had a wringer washing machine and Monday was wash day. It was sacred. You didn't do anything else on Monday except wash clothes and hang them out on the line to dry.

I don't remember anyone doing clothes this way either.

I don't remember my Grandmother's or my Great Grandmother's before they had electric washers, although I'm sure they washed clothes another way before they had them. My Grandmother's best friend that lived across the street from her, Mrs. Mitchell had a wringer washer that I use to see when we walked across for a visit. I can't swear on it, but I believe she never went electric.

When we would spend time at the cabin by the lake my grandmother would wash clothes by hand in the kitchen sink. I can remember being so impressed at how efficiently she wrung them out before hanging them on the line

Oh yes... hanging out clothes. When I was growing up we had the washer of course, but I was in my middle teens before we had a dryer. I hung out and took in clothes every weekend. it wasn't fun, but it wasn't hard. The clothes weren't as soft when they were dry, but they sure did smell good after hanging outside. So fresh !

Nothing compares with clean bed sheets, fresh in off the line!

Hey us guys appreciate washing machines as well!!!

I love the "earring" pic. He would have really been before his time!

These are really some cool sepias!!!

I did think about that too and meant to mention some guys do laundry too..... but alas, I forgot it.

Yeah... if Grandpa would have had an earring, that would have been bizarre ! ...but cool.

My parents still have a plastics bathtub that - as far as I know! - has been used for washing clothes for quite some time. Later, my sister and I were bathed in it. It has been in use for my sister's kids some times also.

I love those 1930ies/1940ies clothes.

That's really cool that your family still has the tub with all of that history.

Such a cool post and nice to know a little slice of your family history,
I must admit I saw the dot on the photo before I read your comments and thought initially it was an earing

Thanks !

The errant dot is placed JUST right to give that illusion.... .right ?

Yes just perfectly aligned for sure

You absolutely have the best old pictures!!! I just love them and look forward to them every sepia saturday!

Thank you for that!

!tip

🎁 Hi @jacey.boldart! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Being Loved Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

These pictures are an interesting story.) For some reason I liked the picture on the bridge the most. Many small details that are not immediately visible - a cigar in your hand, a chain from the clock.) A fingerprint in the lower left corner.))

These are nice photos!
No new posts?!! Why?!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95