A Cafe Drawing of sorts: Terns Feeding and surprised Singularity.

in #slothicorn6 years ago (edited)

Here is my sketch for today, inked and watercoloured.
may31thumbnail.jpg

The full size, I just can't seem to get an entire image to fit the crop of Stemmit.
may31ternsbot.jpg

I'm calling this a 'cafe sketch' today, as I have not done a cafe sketch in awhile. Before Spring, when the weather was not as enjoyable here at Toad Hall, I'd try to get out to a cafe for some daily sketching as much as I could.

Sometimes that cafe sketch was simply a cute dog someone brought into the cafe

Or sometimes other characters I had imagined, like my Witch and her Fat Cat who was dreamt up from a free write one day on Steemit and took on a few forms, such as this more graphic version.

However, now that Toad Hall is in her glory, which is Spring and Summer, I am not as inspired to leave. And having done the vast majority of my terrace project I really like to stick around and have my coffee here.

So, today's cafe drawing is inspired by two things, one being my continued obsession with my Singularity Series and the other is simply the fascination of watching the plethora of shore birds that visit Toad Hall's beach daily.

Today's finished sketch then combines those two with a bit of a wink and a nod at what might be lurking beneath the waters other than the delicious fish these fellows love to catch.

The end of the day is Tern Time here.

Just as the sun begins to sink in the sky, they arrive to fish for the prey that are themselves beginning to feed closer to the surface.

I think maybe as the sun is not causing such a glare as well, it must make spotting their slippery food easier.

Here is a video (maybe a bit too long) of last nights feed beginning. You can also catch a little clutch of geese happily paddling along as well.

I am thankful for my lucky place here at Toad Hall.

I enjoy the sea everyday and appreciate what we are lucky to have. I hope you can have a glimpse of natural joy today and find a moment to sketch or follow whatever passion fuels you.

If you like my work please upvote and feel free to resteem and by all means leave comments.


Check out my other posts:



asteemitfooter.jpg

This piece was made as an initial sketch with pencils 4H and 2B on fine tooth sketch paper then inked and watercoloured digitally with Painter.
Copyright @donnadavisart - All Rights Reserved

My bitcoin wallet as per the @slothicorn request to provide it with your artwork.

Sort:  

Great job on the video (and the drawing too of course).

I love the "Donna Davis" branded coffee cup in the witch drawing.

Ah, the way you combine these fine lines with blobs of pretty water colours! I truly dig it. Awesome style.

Thank you so kindly. I love to mess about with splatters when doing a drawing.

I love your "Singularity" amid the birds... you have such a quirky outlook and such skill at putting it into images! Been tempted to get back into a bit of sketching myself. I am no good, but it is great brain exercise regardless of talent.

There is no real good or bad in such consideration, draw and sketch! What you make will be uniquely yours especially if you draw with abandon at first. Then if you want main stream 'skill' you can always work towards it, but why not just start scribbling and throwing paint about and see what you like!

I am going to start "camping" in our little trailer, and taking my sketch stuff with me. I spent a whole summer sketching down there and proved that practice makes... improvement... lol! THANK YOU for the encouragement!

Great interaction with the terns and looking up. I love the added dimension of interacting with the organic world around her, and obvious fascination. At least in dd world (this dd).

I've always been a bit wiggy fascinated with the ocean. It is SO SO SO vast, and we never know what is bopping around where it cannot be seen. Below, or to the ENORMOUS sides. I'm definitely more of a terrestrial. I think it comes from movies when young, and things appearing out of the 'behind you' in the shadows. In this case, the 4800 miles of mile-deep ocean 'behind' you. A LOT of BIG things can hide there. And I'm not convinced there aren't some REALLY big things out there, that are very very old. It is too vast, like space. Only with critters with Schteinnswallowing teeth. My nephew was a deep-sea rover operator in the North sea and all over the place. Some of the pictures of things they saw down below, were pretty amazing. One was a squid with crab claws on two long arms. And it just swam by the camera. Like the movies. I'm staying in the trees, thank you verymuch. Hope your weekend is a bonny good one. Till lateron.

I've been off Steemit for 2 days, I broke my toe and it was @winstonalden's bday, so I'm a bit behind on comments, but I shall catch up. Of course today Steemit won't respond and I post a long comment and it spins and spins and then tells me 'broadcast error'. Oh tech what a coy little vixen you are.

I have always loved the sea and lakes and streams and ponds and pools! If it has water in it , I'm in it , on it or near it. I love a deep wood as well, and I enjoy a mountain view, but I don't really like to be up high, so when we holiday in Bar Harbor @winstonalden gets his high mountain hikes and I get my low sea level meanders.

I've always felt safer with the scary things in the briney deep then I might be in the woods, not sure why? If anyone wanted to believe in 'signs' I am a water sign, for what that is worth. Who can say. I was told that as soon as I could walk, I would run to the end of our family pool and dive in with abandon into the deep end. Who knows why, maybe I'm tyring to return to my pre evolutionary state wondering why we bothered to climb up out of the sea ;)

I'll wave to you up in the trees whilst under the shallow waters in my mask and snorkel :)

Ha haa, that little vixen is a sly one. Hate when she just spins and spins and spins and laughs at me. And I have some nice imagery for the day, dda oozing down the shore through the reeds and such, to get back to the briney beginning once more. That should keep me going for the day ( :

So sorry about your toe. That is a pain, and little to do about it. How did it happen? I am maybe crossing over in comments and such here, between your toe and GK's finger, I know there have been many injuries on Steemit. Albeit smaller ones', which is good. I hope you have it taped to it's friends next door, and you are healing up nicely. I broke a few in basketball and in the woods. Very painful indeed. And hard to hobble.

I too am a water sign. But still am wary of the grand ocean. Maybe my urn got dropped long ago. Plus I sink like a rock, so swimming great distances is out of the question. Need the stamina of a 1000 to do it. So...I shall wave from my tree, and then toss sticks down for you to look at with your snorkel and mask. I DO love to snorkel. Though I stay close to shore in the ocean.

Storytime: I once was in Florida, and a local told me about the GREAT sea and snorkelriffic life along the pilings of an old pier that ran out about a half mile or more from shore. I was going to snorkel out to the far ones to see what I could see. The next day, I was getting ready, dorky fins on and all, and a local woman came up and we chatted. She told me in an offhand way they had sighted an 11 foot hammerhead along the pilings a week or so earlier. I forwent my trip. I figured I would not need to be eaten, but would successfully die of heart failure, just SEEING a shark like that through my little glass facial window, a half mile from shore. Cant' imagine WHAT that snorkel shout/schnnort would sound like! Question: how long can a stick person sit on a piling, in the blistering Florida sun, until a boat comes along? I have no idea. Never found out. Plus climbing it with fins would be a bit difficult. (That's why we don't climb trees in the forest in fins. Get's wonky up there. ) I'm such a safety weenie, aren't I?
Well, another longer than long diatribe here. Let me know if you get tired of them. I just sort of launch and say up there for awhile.

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Wonderful minimalistic painting I like the mood of it.There is an Android which wants to feel like human-beings and see the world the way which people do...

Thank you for sharing and have a nice day my friend...

You too and thank you for stopping by!

Congratulations @donnadavisart! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Your Post Has Been Upvoted by @a-0-0! 👍

Hello, donnadavisart, I'm @ArtTurtle, an upvote bot run by @Artopium. I just upvoted this post and resteemed it because I'm following you and, well, that's just what I do. Reciprocation is always appreciated! If you no longer wish to have @ArtTurtle follow you please reply to this comment with 'STOP'.

Such an amazing thread of pictures! love it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00