You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A (Smoker's) Paradise Lost

in #smoking6 years ago

You’re actually allowed to compete in your kids’ sports day? The school my son goes to won’t run parent events due to insurance issues. Too many injuries during the egg and spoon race I guess

Sort:  

Yup, though I think I'm banned for elbowing the 8 year old's out of the way in the sack race! Lolz, just kidding!!

The fact is I live in England, so people just laugh at you when you say you'll sue them for an injury that's clearly your fault. You have to lose an entire limb before you can think about maybe getting a few grand in compensation :-D

Cg

Yeah I’m English too, which is what surprised me about our son’s school.
I can imagine the adult events getting pretty feisty. There is always that simmering layer of competiveness between some parents even on an average morning dropping their kids off in the playground so an actual sports event must lead to emotions boiling over from time to time.
Anyway, good luck with quitting smoking, imagine how easily you’ll win the parents’ race next year - they’ll probably name the gym after you and if that isn’t incentive to quit, I don’t know what is :-)

What??? That's crazy! It must be a fee paying school no?

I really hope this isn't a sign of things to come, sure it's competitive and sure you might injure yourself, but hey apart from a roll of the eyes from your partner that should be the end of it!

Haha, yes well I'm hoping they actually have the race this year, last year there wasn't time, so my crown is actually from 2 years ago, lolz :-)

Hmm, a gym named after me, I like the sound of that hahahaha

Cg

Nope, regular local infant school.

In fact they decided to delay this year's event because it had rained the day before - completely fine and dry on the day itself. There was a concern that the grass was too slippy - it's England in the summer it's gonna rain!

We are generally really happy with the school but they do seem to have a bee in their bonnets when it comes to sports day. Perhaps a previous incident, who knows?

Maybe I'll get the chance when he moves to Primary school proper. Best get in training ;-)

Ah ok, I didn't pay attention properly earlier, that explains it, an infant school kind of explains it, they tend to be a bit more protective over them.

Once you get past reception in primary the gloves are off! :-D

Cg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63642.15
ETH 3126.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87