You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Social media & kids - a scary mix!

This is a great topic which hits a lot of nerves.

For the most part I think its harmless.. posting family holiday snaps for example.

Personally I wouldn't post any pics of my kids online other than maybe as part of a family profile picture or the occassional formal update at Xmas or something.

I can't see any benefit to them of constant posting of their pictures. However if they wanted to post on their own account I'd be fine with that after a bit of schooling in digital literacy.

NB for a lot of parents their kids are their only source of identity thus many will be posting pics of them for their own benefit, not their kids' benefit.

However you'll probably just get screamed at if you explain that to them.

NB I don't have any kids!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

"However if they wanted to post on their own account I'd be fine with that after a bit of schooling in digital literacy." That is exactly how I woudl approach things too, once they are old enough to understand (not sure,maybe age 15 or 16)...and I agree lots of parents post for their own sake, notfor the sake of their children =)

And yes, family portraits are probably harmless, unless you want to trace of your kid online whatsoever...

They could want to start posting much younger than that! 12/13, even younger?

Posted using Partiko Android

lol hopefully not lol...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.54
ETH 3092.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87