You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Social media & kids - a scary mix!

in #socialmedia5 years ago

Ugh - yes :-/ I just commented here what I think of this 'case': https://steemit.com/blog/@llfarms/psa-warning-dear-men-of-steem-that-photo-of-the-hot-chick-might-just-be-a-10yr-old-kid#@soyrosa/re-llfarms-psa-warning-dear-men-of-steem-that-photo-of-the-hot-chick-might-just-be-a-10yr-old-kid-20190303t232944437z

I very much respect parents who said 'I'm not posting pics of my kid because they can't give consent and who knows what the world looks like in 10-20 years? What is the impact of having your face online from a young age if we end up in some sort of dystopian era where your face is followed everywhere for 'good' or bad reasons?'

It's up to everyone and I'm also enjoying the pics I see of my niece on Instagram, so I'm not a fanatic, but I love parents who at least put some thought in it and make a decision that works for them.

The 'case' mentioned before though is a clear 'no' for me though.

Sort:  

I just saw your comment there, and totally agree with you! It's sad in a way that sharing pictures of your child with your friends and family is quite dangerous these days, and that we have to think about the negative all the time. It would be nice to live in a carefree world, but unfortunately that's our reality right now.. For me it will be an internal battle of wanting to post and then not doing it because of the reasons mentioned above....oh well, it is what it is...my parents also couldn't share anything online and they were fine LOL

Thanks for stopping by girl, big hugs!!!!

:D The internal battle will be real! I honestly see less harm in posting pics on the blockchain than on Facebook, where I don't trust the 'algorithms' and feel you can really hurt someone by posting their pic. Here - I don't know, there's no evil company behind this place. But on the other hand it's hard to predict where technology will go and how data we put on here will be maybe used? At some point? Maybe a real 'baby' pic is okay, but once the baby gets a real face (recognizable by software) we should be more careful? Curious to learn what you'll decide and what feels right :-) I make no judgements, am just exploring these ideas and would not know what I'd do if I were to become a mother.

HUGS!

ahaha no worries, I don't even know yet what I'll do...I guess I will decide in teh spur of the moment =) But I love your imput!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63207.78
ETH 3068.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87