Getting quoted by Buzz Aldrin in his book - some encouragement to all steemians working hard to be seensteemCreated with Sketch.

in #space6 years ago (edited)

I know many of you who read my posts frequently are either students in a science-related field, or work as scientists yourself. Chances are therefore good that you have been writing a paper or a thesis and thought to yourself “who the hell is going to read this crap anyway?!?” I certainly have had that experience, more than once. Writing a good paper or thesis takes a lot of time and is something one often puts all of one's creativity, heart and soul, into writing. Nothing then seems more pointless than the idea that nobody, outside of your tutor and your mum, will actually end up reading it. I bet most of you steemians who write high-quality posts or make great art can relate to this as well.

Buzz_Aldrin_Mission_to_Mars.png
The Book: “Mission to Mars, My Vision for Space Exploration” by Buzz Aldrin

Anyways, during my stay at the International Space Univerity in 2012, I co-wrote a paper called “Space – One giant leap for education”. The paper is one of the final outputs of our Team project aimed to address the question of how Space, with its innate ability to inspire young minds, and the way in which it covers practically all the different “stem” disciplines, could be better used to improve the quality of, and interest in, stem-education globally (stem is short for science, technology, engineering and mathematics). The paper was a collective effort by 34 space professionals and students from 18 different countries during the ISU Space Studies Program 2012. I was proud to be the one to make the final presentation of our findings and recommendations at the very end of the program.

The project went really well, and the presentation kicked ass. I have always done a lot better with oral presentations than in written examinations, so the fact that there were a lot of people watching the stream, and some famous names in the space sector sitting in the audience, did not put me off! Anyhow, the feedback we got was great, and the team behind the report were happy and satisfied. So now what? Having put a lot of effort into discussing, planning, researching, writing and presenting our work, we could of course, present our findings at some relevant conferences and events. But with the programme coming to an end, most participants were going back to their jobs or to finish their degrees, and while some of us wanted to stay in touch to see if we could do some follow-up work in the future, we had no direct plans going forward.

STEM TP.jpg
Group photo of "TP STEM" the team working on the topic of space for education during the ISU Space Studies Programme in 2012

It was only a year later that things really got cool, when Buzz Aldrin published his book “Mission to Mars, My vision for Space Exploration” (a great book by the way!). Buzz is of course known worldwide for being one of the first two men to walk on the Moon together with Neil Armstrong with the Apollo 11 mission. Buzz is still very active in promoting space exploration and is considered one of the most influential voices on the topic of human spaceflight and the prospect of sending humans to Mars. It was therefore very special to be messaged by a friend who was in the same project, telling me that our work had been mentioned in his new book! Needless to say I bought the book immediately. I was surprised to see that Buzz had spent no less than 3 pages quoting and discussing our work. A demonstration of the ego that lies in us all perhaps, I was most proud when I saw that one of the parts he had chosen to site and discuss was something that I had written and also said in my presentation. A small chapter, called "STEAM Power", highlighted how collectively going to Mars could also have worldwide impacts on education and inspire a new generation of students to become scientists and engineers.

I'm still curious about how Buzz came across our report. It's also fun to think about how someone like Buzz, who is continuously asked to attend conferences or give his opinion on this or that, found the time to sit down and read something that we wrote, let alone be inspired to include some of it in his book.

Space_one_giant_leap_for_education.jpg
me presenting our findings in a Jetson style uniform. Expected to be very trendy in 2040!

So perhaps you can keep this little story in mind the next time you’re putting in that last piece of effort to finish a paper or a thesis, or indeed a post on steemit, and you wonder if it will make any difference, or if it will even reach the eyes of anyone. It can be worth remembering that you never know where it might end up (especially when put on the blockchain!), and thus find that extra bit of motivation to push yourself over the finishing line. Telling this to myself and thus pushing up my standards for what I want to leave my name on has certainly helped me a lot at times!

Long story short: Steem on :)

You can read our final report here: Space - One Giant Leap for Education

Sort:  

Awesome costumes!

Thank you. I totally can say "yes" to what you said about "you never know". Writing articles in the spirit that it might be worth for some one whom you do not know or haven't thought about is good to keep in mind.

Actually this reminds me on a little anecdote: I worked back then in an agency as a Public Relations consultant. Eventually I quit my job and turned my way to another profession.

Some of my legacies stayed in the office. This included items such as scissors, punches and tackers, all of which I had pasted on with small notes and which contained a funny saying about my "ownership". For example,"Watch out, if you hold this punch in your hand, you're a thief. It definitely doesn't belong on your desk. Bring it back, you bad guy": -)

A colleague, whom I had only got to know for a very short time, wrote to me on Facebook years later that the things still haunt the office and make people smile.

Another much younger colleague thanked me several years later for my lessons in "Powerpoint" and said that he had learned a lot from me.

This can be done with texts and publications. Once on the net: Who knows who will stumble upon it?

Thank you very much for this good advice and the motivation!

I'm glad you liked it! Thank you also for contributing to the post with your own experience! I would say we leave bits and pieces of ourselves everywhere we go that stays behind after we've left. It's a good thing to have in mind what bits of you one would like other people to find and appreciate :)

Yes, it's the same with keeping in mind that we are always role models to others, as well to friends but also to strangers.

I would like to be remembered positively by other people, it is sometimes a strange but also very useful thought to think about how people talk about you when you are already dead. With this ulterior motive in mind, some of the arguments in my life would have developed differently:)

"...Buzz had spent no less than 3 pages quoting and discussing our work."

Thanks so much for this encouraging example of "being noticed." :D

Although my personal fortunes and "popularity" here on Steemit have waxed and waned, I hope to be here for the long haul.

Why?

I believe that the Steemit blockchain has the potential to persist far into the future. If it does, then my writing will also be preserved. I hope that Steemit will be a durable archive of my thought for my children and future generations to see, long after I've left the scene.

😄😇😄

@creatr

Yes my traffic has also gone down in recent months compared to when I was the most active in the summer. I suppose it may be due to a period with decreasing STEEM prices where less people seem to spend as much time-on site knowing their expected dollar value payment is lower.

I am also very optimistic when I see how much work is being put into different projects that are potential mega-hits. And it only takes one to go mainstream for a whole lot more traction to come this way. then having an early adopter position which helps enable you to be seen by the onboarding users will be very valuable indeed.

I'll give you a follow and perhaps then we can leave something worth inheriting on the blockchain together! :)

Thanks, my friend. I'll be looking over your blog as well.

I am a huge STEM enthusiast myself, attending the local STEM fairs and the San Diego Maker Faire as often as possible. I exhibited at the Maker Faire here a couple of months ago.

I appreciate your response! Take care, and Steem on. :D

OK then, a quick peek at your blog tells me that I resonate with what you are doing and writing about... Followed! ;) :D

Very exciting project! Just read the abstract to your paper and found your focus so encouraging. what child isn't excited by space - even us aging children? Helping students see how STEM are relevant to their interests and lives is the way to engage them in learning. Even those who don't go into related fields will learn critical thinking skills that are sorely lacking, at least here in the US. thanks for sharing!

This year I had the pleasure of attending presentation/interview of two amazing men, two of the twelve moon walkers, Gene Cernan and Buzz Aldrin. Gene Cernan was such a gentleman on the stage, telling stories, answering questions and hopefully inspiring the young ones in the audience with his "never give up on what you want to achieve".

Whereas Buzz Aldrin was a little more into telling stories about his own achievements and I got that he still carries the grudge for not being selected for the first to set foot on the moon. I did like his story about when he was talking to someone who had just climbed Mt Everest and asked Buzz if he would do the climb. Buzz responded by saying he had climbed a higher mountain.

It is sad to think we will soon not have any of the moonwalkers to share their fascinating experiences of walking on the moon as they are getting old. When are we going to meet some new moonwalkers?

Hello @thefutureishere and thanks for your great comment!
Yes, considering how most we see in technological advancements are just growing exponentially year by year, it is a bit disappointing that we still marvel at what we did in the sixties...

At the space agency here in Europe we do have a General Director who want to see us back on the Moon. The moon-village plan involving international and private + public collaboration looks like an ideal path forward to me. I hope we'll see it starting to take shape in the 2020s. :)

This is so inspiring and cool.

You have changed me today with simple lesson you shared at the end of the post, from this moment on everything I do has to make a positive difference in someone's life.

Thank you so much for this

Hey @gotgame! Thank you for writing that! Yes, I too try to be mindful every day on what small thing I can do to lift someone else up or make someone reach a tiny bit further. It's very rewarding, just like receiving these positive feedbacks such as your own :)

Steem on!

That is very nice of you to do. The world would be a better place if people cared to uplift other people as you are trying to do. Keep it up brother. Steem on

This is really a motivation. I really lose motivation when I post and it wasn't seen and it affected me today because i didn't post today because my previous post didn't reach out to people. But nevertheless, am motivated to do more regardless of what comes. Slow and steady wins the race. Thanks for this motivation!!
Proud Member of STEEMSTEM

Some times we're unlucky and things don't go our ways, other times we get lucky and the right person happens to notice what we do. However, luck only benefits the persistent and the hard-working, so keep it up and I am sure you will get what you deserve!

Happy if I could help inspire you today my friend!

Thanks for the advice...

Lucky only benefits the persistent and hard working ....True

Thanks anyway... 🙏

Awesome story, so glad to see you continue your growth on Steemit. Its no surprise that the passion you have for your work has a way of grabbing others. Its all about that unseen energy and vibrations that connects us all.

That is really nice of you to say @azfix, and I'm very happy to hear it from you. Yes, when one loves what one does, you can't help but share it with the world, and when people see someone who loves what they do, they get curious, or at least I do :)

What a wonderful story! Buzz is one of my heros as well, congratulations on getting your work noticed!

Glad you liked it! Yes it's hard for me to work in the space sector and not have Buzz as a hero :) I was totally taken by surprise!

This is so cool, Fredrik! Thank you for this much needed reminder to be patient and put in the work, regardless of expectations. It is part of personal ethics and discipline, but on top of it, who knows? Maybe part of your work will reach the ears (or eyes) of someone who truly appreciates it as the little gem it is and wants to share it on a big scale, like it happened with you and Aldrin. Cheers to that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64449.70
ETH 3164.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87