You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SPIRITUAL FOOD 4 THOUGHT - I DO NOT BELIEVE IN THE CHURCH OFFICE OF ELDER

in #spirituality5 years ago

(Titus 1:6-7 NIV) An elder must be blameless, the husband of but one wife, a man whose children believe and are not open to the charge of being wild and disobedient. {7} Since an overseer is entrusted with God's work, he must be blameless--not overbearing, not quick-tempered, not given to drunkenness, not violent, not pursuing dishonest gain.

The Bible is clear that "elder" is a church office.

Sort:  

So clearly you didn't watch the video, since he addresses this scripture specifically.

Listening before you talk is a virtue.

Posted using Partiko Android

Very good point, and thanks for that. @Barncat often does that, so they probably won't even reply to your response...

I appreciate you at least checking it out too. That means a lot.

You're welcome.

I'll admit I haven't had the time of late to check out all your videos in this series, but the ones I have checked out I have found thought-provoking, and with this one, we're pretty much in agreement.

I was raised Episcopalian, but my parents encouraged us to do our own seeking, and I thus became a Mormon at age thirteen . . . and it bothered me even at that age that church elders were often not much older than I was, though I didn't personally run across any as young as nineteen.

I did find that my beliefs diverged from theirs pretty quickly, though I still have a lot of fond memories of the people I met during that time, but while I've always been a person of faith, I've always had issues with the dogma of any church.

At this point, I consider myself a follower of Yeshua rather than a Christian, because I've yet to find a church that actually teaches what he himself taught, and the majority pervert his message to a ridiculous degree. Thanks anyway.

In any case, I'm enjoying your series, and even though I don't agree across the board, we agree on all the major points. Thanks for doing these.

Seriously?

He that answereth a matter before he heareth it, it is folly and shame unto him. Proverbs 18:13

Perhaps that verse should just be my go to verse to reply to you with...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62332.64
ETH 3006.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94