SPIRITUAL FOOD 4 THOUGHT - I DO NOT BELIEVE IN THE CHURCH OFFICE OF ELDER

in #spirituality5 years ago

Don't worry, the only reason that I do not believe in it is that it is unbiblical and inaccurate.


Much like when a young Mormon missionary shows up with a name tag that says "elder" on it, the modern concept of having "elders" appointed in the church totally misses the mark.

Interestingly enough, there are not even "qualifications" of an elder given in scripture, but rather, "elder" is a qualification in itself. Check out the video to find out more.

"THE CHURCH OFFICE OF ELDER" VIDEO


Also, if any of you enjoy these videos, please feel free to subscribe to my new channel Spiritual Food 4 Thought and share these videos wherever you think people may either enjoy them or need them. Thanks everyone!

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


Bitcoin (BTC) - 35jP794XJ1yHUaoxuQUXwGPyCuy6zyiQA5

Sort:  

Thought provoking words you have here but I disagree, the office of the elder truly exists, both here on earth and in heaven, that's why you'll see the 24 elders.

During the Pentecostal era shortly after the death of Jesus, the church was Holy Spirit controlled through the elders.
They have there place in the administration of the church at large.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sure, elders are mentioned, but that refers to "older people," as far as I understand. I am speaking in regards to what is delivered in Titus 1, and exactly what Titus was instructed to do there. In that passage, he is choosing elders to function as bishops. Not every elder is qualified for this.

I do thank you very much for the comment, and for excising your freedom to express it too, especially since you disagree. Thanks for that!

"Respect your elders" - that is in the bible and it used to have meaning, in that the older a person got, the more wisdom they accumulated.

It is also very important to respect your lineage. (for reasons that were removed from the Bible)

Where things have gone off the rails is that we now live in a society that respects (or at least last decade) the name tag.
V.P. of Accounting, Lead developer, Garbage Engineer...

It used to be that you moved into higher positions through a system of meritocracy. So, the boss knew what was happening on the floor, because, well, he was there once. However, now we hire kids out of MBA programs straight into middle management. So, the boss now knows less than nothing.

The same with elders. They lived for a long time and learned a lot.
But today, the elders don't know anything. They were fed bullshit and kept in the dark. Grandma doesn't know about smart-phones. But, she may be the last in her lineage that learned how to can and preserve foods.

There are so many old people who have basically been saying the same thing for 60 years. They haven't improved. They haven't gained any wisdom.

And thus, we get to today. Where the Elders in the church are chosen based on the groups preferences. Its not that they know their stuff, it is that they spout the same rhetoric.

There is no wisdom, there is only indoctrination.

"Respect your elders" - that is in the bible and it used to have meaning, in that the older a person got, the more wisdom they accumulated.

Yup, and that was anyone older than you, not just those "appointed to some office." It's a sad state we've come to these days.

There's a lot in the Bible that you don't believe in apparently.

Really? The word "Elder" is used many times throughout the entire Bible, but since you have no idea what I even shared, you have no idea what I even believe....

(Titus 1:6-7 NIV) An elder must be blameless, the husband of but one wife, a man whose children believe and are not open to the charge of being wild and disobedient. {7} Since an overseer is entrusted with God's work, he must be blameless--not overbearing, not quick-tempered, not given to drunkenness, not violent, not pursuing dishonest gain.

The Bible is clear that "elder" is a church office.

So clearly you didn't watch the video, since he addresses this scripture specifically.

Listening before you talk is a virtue.

Posted using Partiko Android

Very good point, and thanks for that. @Barncat often does that, so they probably won't even reply to your response...

I appreciate you at least checking it out too. That means a lot.

You're welcome.

I'll admit I haven't had the time of late to check out all your videos in this series, but the ones I have checked out I have found thought-provoking, and with this one, we're pretty much in agreement.

I was raised Episcopalian, but my parents encouraged us to do our own seeking, and I thus became a Mormon at age thirteen . . . and it bothered me even at that age that church elders were often not much older than I was, though I didn't personally run across any as young as nineteen.

I did find that my beliefs diverged from theirs pretty quickly, though I still have a lot of fond memories of the people I met during that time, but while I've always been a person of faith, I've always had issues with the dogma of any church.

At this point, I consider myself a follower of Yeshua rather than a Christian, because I've yet to find a church that actually teaches what he himself taught, and the majority pervert his message to a ridiculous degree. Thanks anyway.

In any case, I'm enjoying your series, and even though I don't agree across the board, we agree on all the major points. Thanks for doing these.

Seriously?

He that answereth a matter before he heareth it, it is folly and shame unto him. Proverbs 18:13

Perhaps that verse should just be my go to verse to reply to you with...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95