You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Time heals no wounds.

in #spirituality6 years ago

"The belief that time heals all wounds is held by many who confuse healing with forgetfulness."

This is very true! I also believe you can interchange the word "forgiveness" where you have "forgetfulness" in a sense. The reason being, just because I forgive a person or situation for the pain caused to me doesn't mean I forgot about it over time or that that the emotional scar has healed.

For me the healing has come down to power... either I'm going to have more power than the pain or I'm going to give in to the pain and let the wound fester..And I will never give in to the pain again!

Sort:  

This is very true! I also believe you can interchange the word "forgiveness" where you have "forgetfulness" in a sense. The reason being, just because I forgive a person or situation for the pain caused to me doesn't mean I forgot about it over time or that that the emotional scar has healed.

You are correct, yet forgiveness is critical for healing even if not enough.

either I'm going to have more power than the pain or I'm going to give in to the pain and let the wound fester

This sounds like inner conflict, Healing is more about acceptance, nonjudgmental awareness, making peace with the pain. The more rejection we add to the pain the more energy we give it and the more empowered it gets.

If you are interested you can read two of my old posts: Adopting new approach to your negative emotions. & The Pain Body !!!

I'm learning how to accept the pain. It's not easy but I'm learning.

This is great. Please share the experience. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63626.78
ETH 3301.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91