You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SPIRITUAL FOOD 4 THOUGHT - DEBT BONDAGE

This message is one that is so far removed from what many believe these days that I wouldn't be surprised if most people literally couldn't understand the concepts you're talking about. In fact, our whole US economy is built on the exact opposite of this. Rather than loaning to others, our economy is based on consumers' "faith" in the economy and their ability to take out more debt. It's one of the reasons it's all going to collapse.

From a biblical standpoint though, I think you're right on. It's a matter of choosing who we want to be our master. If we want the stuff now and want what we want, then the bank will be our master. If we are willing to not get as many shiny new things right now and be obedient, then God will be our master. As we know from Matthew 11:30, God says "My yoke is easy and my burden is light." Light sounds a lot better than heavy when you're carrying a burden!

Sort:  

Oh yes, I'll take His light burden over the crushing yoke of bondage that debt creates! Thanks for being willing to listen and consider.

I've spent enough time not listening and not considering, so I'm doing what I can to fully embrace and trust that His way is best. Fortunately, my wife and I don't have a bunch of debt, but in this crazy world we live in, even what a person has can so quickly be taken away. We're trying to be intentional about pressing into God during the difficult times rather than getting mad or frustrated because of them. He knows what's going on. He knows what we need. And this isn't our home. So even if things don't go our way and we end up getting removed from Earth, we'll be going to a better place. For now though, we try to bless others and trust that God will continue to provide.

Thanks for the encouragement!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59359.30
ETH 3007.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75