Am I cheesey? Am I real?

in #spirituality5 years ago

Over the past year and a half interacting online again, I've experimented quite a bit with tone, topic, what state I'm in when I write, and presentation. I experiment to see how I feel and to see how others react.

I would not share something that did not feel like it was me, whether it be a story, a song or a Facebook or Steemit post, but I find "meeting people halfway" a bit difficult sometimes. "Halfway" usually doesn't cut it for most people, they want you to meet them exactly where they are at, feeding into their echo chamber OR they want you to be their savior, a larger than life version of yourself, someone who they could never imagine themselves to be.

To put it short, we are all used to disempowerment, or at least, we are used to fitting into a paradigm of disempowerment.

The average person is full of imperfection, and even when they try to hide it, they can't. We all sound stupid sometimes, unless we constantly censor ourself, which is what those of us in the spotlight, and those with an audience end up doing. This mostly has to do with the fact that everyone wants to appeal to as many people as possible.

I write this because I am also guilty of it. Looking back at my last article, I feel "who is this guy?" I feel everything he is saying, the words are me, but the presentation is not. I'm not Nas fucking Daily. Not bashing on Nas, the content he covers is brilliant, but his presentation is cheesey as hell and I don't presume to know what he is like off camera, but I will guess that h didn't talk like that before he started making YouTube videos.

I respect Nas Daily, but fuck, I never want to be Nas Daily. I do not want to talk a certain way if it does not feel like me, just to make it easier to swallow so it can reach more people. I do not want to be cheesey. I want to be real as fuck.

I think spending time in (what I would call) "New Age" circles also leads one to censor themselves a lot. One wants to be seen as "enlightened" or even just "not a fucking mess" and so we often end up censoring our true feelings. We probably do have our spiritual shit together most of the time but we slip and fall sometimes, and then we try and climb our way back up, slowly over months or even years, always pretending we never fell.

Changing yourself to reach more people is a scarcity mindset in action. Whether it's for more views or more respect in your community. I want no part in it.

I'm not accusing anyone else of doing this, like a said, I don't know Nas Daily, I'd probably like him if I met him, and I prefer a world with Nas Daily doing what he's doing to a world without Nas Daily.

But I am not Nas Daily.

Sort:  

The "New Age" has more dogma and presuppositions than the old one ever had.

If you ever meet a truly enlightened individual, they can't help but be themselves. They are extremely down to earth and laugh at the drop of a hat.

The Dalai Lama had this guy who would start the morning chants. This guy had an extreme bass voice, and would start out OOOOOOOMMM. And the Dalain Lama would break into laughter.

However, the people that call themselves "New Age" are often just dipping their toes into spirituality and just trying to work out what it all means... while keeping their game face on.

I think you sell a lot more books being a new age guru than being enlightened though :-P. It's really not my thing but I do find it sucking me in when I accidently word things cheesily and get more of a response. The most notable want is in bite sized "words of wisdom" that I drop from time to time that seem to be the only way to promote my work on Facebook.

Ooooooom

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Yes definitely

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Well you know me comma I lay it out for all to see. I don't want to preach or present myself as the fountain of all knowledge and five the fact that most of the time I am just a messy chick who bluffs her way through life lol. I mean I know a lot of stuff but it is not in my nature to pretend I am any kind of guru and I would rather be who I am. And I relate to the more real people on this blockchain as well. We are full of messy brilliance and I fucken love that XX

Posted using Partiko Android

Whatever tone you’re using is whoever you are at the time, even if you’re a complete stranger to yourself in the next post 🤣 all part of getting to know you 😆

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @whatamidoing!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.019 which ranks you at #1119 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 203 contributions, your post is ranked at #75.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98