You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: TPC – PRACTICE DAY 2 – PATRICK REED AND MARTIN LAIRD

in #sports6 years ago

I was looking forward to seeing this post even though I don't have anything to do with golf. I love the photos you are posting. I love that very green grass and the beautiful blue sky, and of course the sport competition.
What is your duty more precisely, if you don't mind me asking. I'm just curious.
And I'm looking forward to the next one of course :)

Sort:  

I am what is called a marshal. My main duty is crowd control. We make sure that the fans stay behind the ropes and that they remain quiet when the golfer is addressing the ball ( about to hit it.) Until this year, we had to make sure that all cell phones were out of sight and no pictures taken during play and no texting was done in the area. That has all changed this year, thank God! We are behind the ropes with the players during play and if you happen to see golf on tv, you would see us with our hands up and also maybe holding a Quiet sign. Another duty is that one of the marshals is responsible fir watching the ball and signaling to the marshals at the landing area to show which direction the ball has gone. If it goes outside the ropes, marshals have to guard the ball and keep people away from it till the golfer gets there!

Thank you for these insights @dmcamera! That's a tough job but I can see the fun side of it as well. I have to watch some golf to get familiar with it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63572.67
ETH 3086.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86