You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Experts Are Wrong. Japanese Two-Way Baseball Star Shohei Ohtani is a Better Fit for the National League

in #sports6 years ago

I honestly don't care where he plays. I want him to show up and dominate both aspects of the game. It would be one of the most interesting things to happen in MLB since Bo Jackson and Deion Sanders played football and baseball. If I'm not mistaken, Sanders played for both Atlanta teams in one 24 hour period.

You make a compelling baseball argument. From a fan's perspective, if he is great at both pitching and hitting, I hope he plays in the AL. If he does and is able to DH, I would buy a ticket when his team plays the White Sox (there will be plenty available). With the DH spot, you have a far greater chance of him playing on the day you attend.

If he really is a "Unicorn", MLB needs him on TV as much as possible.

But the odds of him continuing to excel in both aspects in the MLB are not good. In Japan he only pitches once per week so he has plenty of tie to practice both skills. In the MLB he may need to focus on pitching more leaving less time to hone his batting skills.

It is so much fun to dream about though. For now he is babe Ruth.

By the way, I think Ichiro is the greatest hitter I have ever seen. I have never seen anyone else get a hit off of a pitch that bounced before the plate. And I saw him do it twice!

Sort:  

For sure. I hope he is that good. It would be wonderful for the game and for any team that gets him.

Vlad Guerrero hit a pitch on a bounce when he was on the Angels. Can check it out on YT.

LOL. I was just talking about that in chat! I had forgotten.

Given your Simpsons expertise, I think a few guys on the 1992 Springfield Nuclear Power Plant softball team also did too.

LOL!

Not Mattingly though. Wouldn't shave those sideburns!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63658.84
ETH 3310.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92