You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Moments which made me dizzy.

in #sports7 years ago (edited)

Love this community we're building here...

My favorite sports memory...
Year 2012 300m hurdles...high school state qualifiers.

BANG The trigger is pulled. I'm off to a good start trailing my opponent to my right. Not TWO HURDLES IN he decides to run around his next hurdle for what ever reason, so given the staggered start, I pretty much am landing on him! I take a gnarly tumble, bonked my head, and got some gnarly track burn on my shoulder. This is one of my favorite track memories strictly because I remember hearing the whole audience gasp... I regain my barings, and get back to my feet. The audience immediately began cheering for me, so I gave them my best and finished the race alone for both them and myself. Hearing the cheering and clapping after a disappointing crash made for a beautiful moment in high school sports, and the feeling I will never forget.

It just goes to show the magical moments and feelings sports can inspire.
Thanks for your time. (:

Sort:  

Hey @zacharius, please join us on telegram. We are inviting people from all over the world to be part of this great movement. We are chatting there and would appreciate if you could join. We need all the help we can get :)
Telegram https://t.me/SportsPodiumPublic

Dude....you have to tell me this whole story. What the actual whatever went through your mind in the moment? I know one Olympian who told me all he could think about was NOT getting too excited, as in thank goodness i am in tracksuit pants and not a speedo type of excited on a podium and another who said all that went through her mind was how is she going to get these things through customs and on an international flight home while she received her Olympic medals. But your story sound right up there with those....

Oh gosh, it's funny I can remember pretty much exactly what I was thinking. I 100% realized it was about to happen when I saw him start maneuvering around his instead of over his... so I expected the crash n burn, and when I heard the entire audience gasp at once, I legit felt like I was gonna start laughing! 😂 The whole scene was hilarious to me.
Because I did bonk my head, it took me a second to fully get back to my senses. At the time, my thoughts immediately went to finishing the race... almost like I had to before I could get off the track. Lol, so I get up and started running and everyone started cheering like crazy! I can still feel how inspired I was to finish that race to this day. Like I said, it was unforgettable. . . ;-)

Awesome. You sound like a proper star!

HA! You're only humoring me... 😇 I tease... thank you for your time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62613.51
ETH 3019.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93