Moments which made me dizzy.

in #sports7 years ago

Let’s talk about your favorite moments in sports – and let me share mine.

As a child, I vividly remember Zola Budd and Mary Decker and the alleged tripping at the 1984 Los Angeles game. It was my first real Olympic memory (despite my own family where I have a grandfather who qualified as an Olympian and a cousin who took part in a few Olympic Games – but damn, I can’t talk about that on here because yeah…you know the story about revealing other people’s identities online) – but digression aside, you decide for yourself whether Zola Budd tripped Mary Decker or not. Here is a clip of the race.

I remember Cathy Freeman lighting the cauldron in Sydney wearing that space suit – and the little crush I had on her in the moment ;)

Athens didn’t grip me much – and buckle up and brace yourself because I am going to blog about Athens – then and now. Spoiler alert - you might want a headache tablet, a soft blankie and a quiet corner to cry in if you see what the photos.

The Olympic training pool in Athens today. I know.

Moving on swiftly, who can forget Freddie Mercury and Montserrat Caballé in Barcelona in 1992?


Freddie Mercury and Montserrat Caballé going big in Barcelona

Beijing’s pyrotechnics were off the hook (the pollution in the city too, but again, no Olympics are perfect. Except London 2012)


Bright Beijing 2008 – if you ever needed dark glasses at night, this was your opening ceremony of choice. I think every camera flash and every hand that could hold a light was in and around that stadium. It was certainly memorable. Also, the world got to know the Winklevii – the famous Winklevoss twin rowers and close friends of one Mark Zuckerberg. The Winklevii were sensational. Love ‘em or loathe ‘em. I am amongst the former.

The most sensational games in my view – and the most impressive and most perfect in my mind, was London 2012. It was the most emotional for me too. Natalie du Toit got multiple gold and I was in tears every time. I was elated by Thomas Daley and the diving – and cheered shamelessly for Team GB. I was with Usain Bolt every pace in his race….and I was shattered when Oscar Pistorius came second and not first in his big race. (I am writing here of my personal account and my journey so I don’t want to hear how Oscar Pistorius screwed up and why he is this and that, I know him, I cannot erase memories or my life because of what he did, and I certainly don’t condone what happened, but London happened before the shooting. Try and respect this, even if you dislike him today.) And by now everyone on here knows I went nuts when I saw James Bond with the Queen and the Corgi’s and that helicopter stunt. Below is a clip of the best moments of the London Games


Why the London games hold my heart.

Of Rio, I am going to hand to microphone to Ryan Lochte and drop it * boom *. He will certainly go down as the poster boy for Rio – and man, he was wrong, but I can’t stop liking him.

Rio pyrotechnics – and somewhere in this Ryan Lochte had no idea how this would end…..

Looking ahead…. Tokyo is going to have to work hard to get me on a flight and spend my money, but guys and girls…. Paris 2024 is for me what Mecca is to my Muslim friends. Or Lourdes to the Catholics – or the Western Wall to my Jewish friends…..I literally cannot wait for Paris. It was only announced a few days ago and I am already driving everyone in the SportsPodium office totally nuts with having to be there.

What were your favourite Olympic moments – leave them in the comments below and make my day

The SportsPodium Team

Our Website https://sportspodium.io/
Telegram https://t.me/SportsPodiumPublic
GitHub https://github.com/SportsPodium/Documentation
Twitter https://twitter.com/@mysportspodium

Sort:  

Love this community we're building here...

My favorite sports memory...
Year 2012 300m hurdles...high school state qualifiers.

BANG The trigger is pulled. I'm off to a good start trailing my opponent to my right. Not TWO HURDLES IN he decides to run around his next hurdle for what ever reason, so given the staggered start, I pretty much am landing on him! I take a gnarly tumble, bonked my head, and got some gnarly track burn on my shoulder. This is one of my favorite track memories strictly because I remember hearing the whole audience gasp... I regain my barings, and get back to my feet. The audience immediately began cheering for me, so I gave them my best and finished the race alone for both them and myself. Hearing the cheering and clapping after a disappointing crash made for a beautiful moment in high school sports, and the feeling I will never forget.

It just goes to show the magical moments and feelings sports can inspire.
Thanks for your time. (:

Hey @zacharius, please join us on telegram. We are inviting people from all over the world to be part of this great movement. We are chatting there and would appreciate if you could join. We need all the help we can get :)
Telegram https://t.me/SportsPodiumPublic

Dude....you have to tell me this whole story. What the actual whatever went through your mind in the moment? I know one Olympian who told me all he could think about was NOT getting too excited, as in thank goodness i am in tracksuit pants and not a speedo type of excited on a podium and another who said all that went through her mind was how is she going to get these things through customs and on an international flight home while she received her Olympic medals. But your story sound right up there with those....

Oh gosh, it's funny I can remember pretty much exactly what I was thinking. I 100% realized it was about to happen when I saw him start maneuvering around his instead of over his... so I expected the crash n burn, and when I heard the entire audience gasp at once, I legit felt like I was gonna start laughing! 😂 The whole scene was hilarious to me.
Because I did bonk my head, it took me a second to fully get back to my senses. At the time, my thoughts immediately went to finishing the race... almost like I had to before I could get off the track. Lol, so I get up and started running and everyone started cheering like crazy! I can still feel how inspired I was to finish that race to this day. Like I said, it was unforgettable. . . ;-)

Awesome. You sound like a proper star!

HA! You're only humoring me... 😇 I tease... thank you for your time!

Yes she totally tripped her... Running in bare feet she received one of Mary's spikes in the heel and her leg flipped out in pain! How ridiculou, it's like being barefoot in the kitchen chopping food and there's always that chance the knife will drop and hit your foot.

Ha...I can't decide. Poor Zola and poor Mary Decker. What must have gone through their minds.....

Hey @kevkong, please join us on telegram. We are inviting people from all over the world to be part of this great movement. We are chatting there and would appreciate if you could join. We need all the help we can get :)
Telegram https://t.me/SportsPodiumPublic

Congratulations @sportspodium! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I don't have any favourite Olympic moment but yes if it is about sports then its in Cricket when "MS Dhoni hits a six and lifts World Cup for India in 2011"

@sportspodium - For me, it has to be Kerri Strug sticking the landing with a busted ankle, Atlanta '96. I was a kid but goddamn that was an awesome moment that stuck in the memory.

That certainly needs some applause and a stand-up ovation. I forgot about that...

Congratulations @sportspodium, this post is the third most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Superuser account holder (accounts that hold between 1 and 10 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Superuser account holders during this period was 833 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $5314.86. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Being part of a region and a country that breathes Cricket, my favorite moment, even though I was 5 at that time and don't remember shit to be honest, is when our then team captain lifted the 1992 Cricket World Cup held in MCG, Australia.. I still watch it, those moments... just... wow! Goosebumps each time I watch it!

Another moment that I, being a cricket lover, can never forget is when Australian batsman Phillip Hughes was struck by a ball in the neck during a domestic match between South Australia and New South Wales at the SCG around 3 years ago... the way he collapsed on that cricket pitch and the news that aired two days after the incident, was really painful to watch :(

I remember that. Phil Hughes was a true star. What a moment that was - I watched his funeral and I was mesmerised about how loved he was and how Australia grieved for him.

Yes.. The whole cricketing world grieved for him that day.. he was undoubtedly a wonderful batsman to watch.

Great post saw my first time.

This... Perhaps one of the greatest moments in golf history.

You are going to have to teach me about golf though....but wow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95