My Sports Background

in #sportstalk5 years ago

Sports was always a huge part in my life

Since a young boy I am interested in Sports. At the age of 6 my parents got me to a gymnastics club aka Turnverein, with 7 I started to play football (for Americans: Soccer) at my home club Wormatia Worms. We won several regional titles – at the age of 17 I suffered from my first cruciate rupture along with a meniscal avulsion.

After learning to walk again and training muscels I got back to the pitch but got injured soon again – after the third cruciate rupture my soccer pro career dream was history and I focused more on the boring fitness / gym stuff. Honestly mainly to pump iron and muscles to impress the girls. Did not work as planned – never achieved this six pack thing on my front.

Coming back to Football – I switched to supporter of my local home club and especially the regional Heros of 1. FC Kaiserslautern. Was a mad supporter being there every week cheering – at least I was able to celebrate German Champion two times with them – now they play in the second division only – but a love for a football club will never die. Interesting the Star of 1991 Champions in Kaiserslautern has just won the 2017 U21 Euro championship as Coach - Stefan Kuntz (you see him in the middle) and I was lucky to have the honour of meeting him in person when he was the boss of the Club some years ago.

The 1998 championship was even more remarkable having risen from the second division under footballing miracle-worker Otto Rehhagel in 1997. Kaiserslautern became the only Bundesliga team to win the title after being promoted the previous season which was unthinkable given the mid-90s dominance of Bayern Munich and Borussia Dortmund.

Professional Sports experience

On a professional level we did work a lot on marketing for Sports brands such as Zumba, Shimano to name a few. When social media was near to become established I was running a full blown analysis of the social media / online activities of each German Bundesliga club.

That was really fun these days and I was able to meet a lot of the Club Marketing People. Some even sent me Xmas cards.

Sports on Social Platforms

On the network called tsu which was one the first that payed content creators based on ad revs I was leading a Football / Soccer community with over 10,000 people where we posted and discussed anything about our favorite sports. It was fun. Even the earnings were lower as here – every cent was great. My personal hightlight has been a Charity Contest I created during the Soccer Euro 2016 tournament. We managed to collect over $100 for charity. Glad to see more of the old Tsufamily joining Steemit and also some of the verified charities from that time.

That is my Sports Story – short and simple.

Sort:  

Great stuff @uwelang :)

These are the sort of posts I am enjoying seeing under the #sportstalk tag.

If we are to build a tribe here, it is worth knowing a little background and what each others sporting interests are. Cheers!

Thanks my friend - I also hope we can get the tribe towards longer content and especially stories that tell something. I appreciate your feedback a lot!

I agree with that. The content is quite short in places and looks a little lazy. Ideally, we want to showcase the best works to attract new members and try to avoid falling into the Steemit trap :)

Exactly - however it will be difficult - not a fan of policing content but if the community can work towards this goal and take the tribe serious it can work. Fingers crossed.

Great read! I have ruptured my fronterior cruciate ligaments in my left knee when I was 23, in the last pre-season game. Since then, and 3 years of suffering and operations, I only played on lower level, but still manage to love the game and the atmosphere. Sad, but it just happens to some of us.
I have a love for sports marketing myself, and am sometimes frustrated how badly it is managed by some clubs in Belgium. Including my own favourite team, Cercle Bruges.
Great to get to know you! We will see eachother around here a lot, if you ask me!

Thanks brother for sharing the story - I know how these injuries feel a lot - I could be on the grid in Champions League - now I post on Sportstalk and Steem.

Glad to read you - happy to discuss joint initiatives if you find time, and myself.

Well, Champions League is overrated and 40 % op pro athletes go bankrupt within 3 years of quitting...
If that makes you feel better.
😎

Posted using Partiko iOS

deal, thanks , made me smile

@uwelang Hello dear friend. How beautiful your story related to football, I am sorry that you have injured yourself and you were out of your dream of being a professional of this wonderful sport. however, you got close to some ways and have made good friendships, it always makes us very happy to receive a Christmas greeting card
Thank you very much dear friend for bringing this wonderful story to ¨sportstalksocial¨I wish you a wonderful day

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93