Garden Harvest - Carrots from the Standing Garden.

in #ssglife5 years ago

First Carrot Harvest

20191002_122941.jpg

I pulled these this weekend - only 1 of my 3 sections of carrots.

Uh - looks like I planted way, way too many carrots. I am going to have to find a way to keep these in good conditions for as long as I can. I guess I have a few options I need to look into.

I guess I either planted way too many carrots or need idea to use these. I am excited to see how many other colorful carrots I get from the other gardens. I get a kick out of seeing my kids confused as to what they are eating. White and purple but tastes like a carrot!

  • Dehydrate?? I just did a bunch of tomatoes that I look forward to trying to use and re-hydrate
  • Freeze ??? Can you freeze carrots? I have no idea what happens to them, I assume they will not have a great texture, but they might still work in roasts and stews?
  • Buy a second fridge?? - I bought a full bushel, yes, two half bushel bags of honey crisp apples and this bowl was already filled a 1 gallon bag plus a quart bag. That is so many carrots!!!

Good problems to have

I will have at least 3-4 gallon zip lock bags when I harvest the rest. Either my friends will be happy, or I will end up hating carrots. I still have some Kale, spinach, tomatoes and potatoes coming with my mint. I have already dehydrated some tomatoes, and will look at doing some apples if I get time this week, and potentially making some apple sauce.

What do you do with all your carrots!

How do you keep the good for longer periods o

Stack on!! ~Senstless~

SteemSilverGold--Banner.png

Sort:  

Well... you can buy frozen carrots so freezing should be fine. I love purple carrots.

You could also just whip up a batch of French onion dip and finish those babies off my tomorrow! 🤤

It's over a gallon zip lock, we are talking like 10lbs plus.... no way they get finished in a week

Throw a football watching party. Make some buffalo wings, out these babies on the side. Crudités platter. Done.

You could also host a lunch for shelter bunnies. 😁 🐰

Thank you senstless! You've just received an upvote of 61% by thejollyroger!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

I sometimes freeze my carrots, but blanch them first.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I have never blanched anything. my only fear is I am about to pull out 2-3x what I already have. Might have to pull out the Julian slicer and dehydrator some and give the rest away. I have read up on blanching but it seems to be a ton of work.

Might need to look into canning, then again, who likes canned carrots?

Have you taste Japanese style picketed carrots...

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99