You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Pets Vs No Pets

I have some thoughts on both sides of this issue.

First, I'll give you the 'no pets' argument...
A friend of mine has some very extreme views on many subjects including that of pet-keeping. Her argument is that a pet is basically a slave to its owner.

While I do find her point over-the-top in its validity, I do think it has some things to think about. If you are keeping an animal in a cage (except for some very useful purpose - i.e. farming or conservation reasons), you are depriving them of their natural habitat.

For this reason, I really do hate many pet stores because they encourage animal collecting - I have to have such-and-such because its trendy, not because I want and understand the animal.

For me, a caged animal is no longer an option unless it fills those other requirements. (I will be keeping fish soon so that I can use them in aquaponics - i.e. to help me grow vegetables to eat.)

Saying that, there are plenty of people who cannot keep a dog or a cat due to apartment living, so fish, birds and rodents become their main options. In those cases, I would recommend having something that can be cuddled and appreciated outside of their cages. (My son had a rescued pet mouse at one point - he did love that thing and would carry it around with him in his pocket. The subsequent hamsters were nowhere near as friendly.)

The pro-pet arguments are many...
Teaching responsibility - for (supervised) children.
Lowered blood pressure in those who have a cuddly something to sit on their laps or whatever.
Giving a rescue animal a needed home and love.
Teaching/fostering unconditional love...

I think the reasons are many - I just don't want to see animals "collected" in order to be kept in cages... Neither do I like to see farm animals in pajamas or other ridiculous notions - again, there are reasons (i.e. a hairless animal or one who has had something happen to require assistance) but by and large a pet's natural fur/feather/whatever is more than adequate to cope with most of our conditions - and is actually hampered by adding fake coverings!

Sorry so long - I'm a writer, can't you see??? I almost decided to make this into its own post, in fact - may yet do... but not today.
(I have a fiction series you might like to check out when you get a chance.)

Sort:  

Great answer! Collecting animals isn't a nobel hobby. However keeping certain animals in a safe environment is probably better than leaving them in the wild in many cases. We are destroying most natural habitats anyways so may as well try to keep some of the animals alive.

I followed you and will check out your posts. Thanks for dropping by

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62449.43
ETH 3190.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81