Steem-Cartoon: My Life as an Animation Student(pg1-2)

in #steem-cartoon6 years ago (edited)

00.jpg
Heeyyyoo~~~ Welcome to my first post in Steemit after my intro! It's only been 6 days since, so applauses to myself that didn't procrastinates any further on this post * clapclap * Anyway as i promised in my intro, this post will be about my submission on @sireh comic project(https://steemit.com/steem-cartoon/@sireh/steem-cartoon-my-pet-project).

Why Did I Join Scroll Comic Project
On 1 Dec 2017,I followed @akmalbastamam and @deduku to the Comination: Scroll meeting, just to cure my curiosity about the project that i heard rustling among my classmates. Most of the Scroll attendees were participated in some kind of art book project set before the comic project, and the actual printed book was distributed in the meeting. You can see the snapshots of the artbook copies in the same sireh's post link above. I didn't participate in the artbook project somehow, so I didn't get the copies because the copies are only for those who participated. Anyhow I fliped through the artbook, and my my...Lots of amazing illustration was in there, all by people in the room. Knowing that those people is going to join the comic project as well, it lighted the fire of motivation in me, and that's how I decided to join the Scroll comic project. It's also the same day that I first knew Steemit, as it was introduced in the meeting as well.

My Life as an Animation Student
Being an animation student myself, I choosed "Animation Students" as my topic to fit in the project's main theme "Student's Life". It's the easiest topic to write as I myself am experiencing it right now.
The total page of my submission is 4 pages, but I'll leave pg3-4 in the next post to shorten the post length.

g7.jpg
pg1&2 widespread
pg1.jpg
pg1
pg2.jpg
pg2

Processes
I choosed 4koma(4-panel) style comic as it's the easiest and most familiar comic style to me. Besides, this is actually my first time making a legit comic since 2014 so I don't really have any confidences to say that my comic skill didn't rust enough to make a one-shot comic.

First of all, sketch to figure and test out whether the layout and story works or not. Choosing widespread format(2pg in 1) for the conveniences of positioning the exaggerated speech box.
1.jpg

I intends to use my first 2 page as an indicator of my personality , which is laziness xD without sacrificing the effectiveness of story but reinforces it. I used 3 kind of cheats to indicate my personality, also Lazy as the title of 2nd strips to further clarify it =P
2.jpg
That exaggeration represents my hatred against the devil - Rendering

Onwards to actually making the comics.
5.jpg
Actual sketch for lineart

6.jpg
Lineart

7.jpg
Tone

Makes slight changes after copy-pasted.
8.jpg
How to lazy 101

Put in text and bubbles. The last speech bubble was a last minute decision, to give the right mood of the fan noises with proper shapes and exaggeration. And Tadaaa~ Finished 2 pages of comic.
g7.jpg
Avoids small font size for web, but it's fine for prints to a certain degree

My processes in gif.
Gif.gif
Yaaaayyyyyy

And that's how I did my first 2 pages, will be showing the rest of the pages in the coming post. See ya'll next time!!!

Sort:  

wahhh.. i wish i can draw like u... so cute lah ! OMG

Draw and continue to have fun drawing~ I'm sure one day u can draw ur own cute things too! >w0)b
Thanks btw~

OMG.. i just found out how to find all the comments i made to others and what others reply to me. hence, late reply haha... I can draw but very simple .. i think i rather leave these cute and awesome drawing to the experts like guys :P

Lol thats ok, i had the same trouble as you too when I first joined here. Srsly tho steemit need to have "notification" for user's conveniences.

That would be really helpful with the 'notifications' available. In any case I am glad i finally found all my comments and replies to others.. else ppl may think i comment for fun.. phewww :P

Really impressed with this post @leoblaze! I think writing from your own experience is great, you can tell this is heartfelt LOL

I think your comic illustration is professional quality and would not look out of place syndicated nationally in the Sunday funnies. And I really enjoyed your process explanations, particularly the gif. Happy to have found you today - following :)

Cheers - Carl "Totally Not A Bot" Gnash / @carlgnash



Click the badge to learn more about
Human Certified Original Works

Haha heartfelt as in feeling the hatred of rendering all over the pages eh? x'D
I still think I have a long way to go before producing professional quality comics, but thanks anyway! =3

Awesome work! @leoblaze! you are really talented at drawing and the comic was pretty funny! I'll start following you now :P. Also I wanted to invite you to a Discord Server I'm running called Steemit Webcomics It's a place specially for people who like to write or read comics, webcomics, comicstrips, etc. It's just starting out so not many people is there yet, but the idea is to grow the community so people can start sharing and collaborating on the creation of comics. Hope to see you there ;) or at least in a future post you make

Haha thanks
As for the discord thingy i afraid will have to pass because i don't have or use discord, and as a non-multitask guy i am already having difficulties keeping myself up with steem-cartoon community...adding in more thing to care in my life would be exhausting for me, so sorry > <

hehe don't worry about it :P! well I'll still check out your future posts anyways, and then later on if you are interested in joining then the doors are always open :) Good luck with all your endevours, cheers!

Hahaha... @leoblaze ... happy you join our SCROLL project... love the post. The best story comes from an honest experience. Happy to see your post is generously upvoted and I don't have to worry about paying you ... hahaha... resteemed and upvoted.

Seems like my suffering in AFX ain't in vain haha TwT
Didn't expect to get this much upvote on my first post with actual content tho
I don't get why you need to pay me, but thanks!

Wow kawai artwork >...< i <3 it

It's in chibi style mate, of course it's kawai xD
Thanks!

Nice artwork, I love this art kawai -)o ♥

wow! good job! excellent! follow me!

Good post, really amazing art. Nive informative post, thanks for sharing experiences to the steemit community.

I consider my art decent, but thanks for your compliments =)

Render-chan is a bitch!

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA so relatable omg! @leoblaze

Hahaha this is so relatable!! Btw I love your art <3

Glad u like it, thanks! ^w^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94