New work / Wildlife study #1- White Rhino / Charcoal on papersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem-cartoon6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180129_234133.jpg
White Rhino's head study - 2018
26 × 38 cm
Charcoal on paper

For me, drawing animals is something more relaxed than drawing portraits or figurative. That's because if a bit of a mistake on the animal's drawing is still intangible compared with portrait or figurative drawings that require more accuracy and focus.

So I choose rhino for the subject because it is interested in the texture of their skin and curiosity, why their horns are so valuable that they are killed just for the horn.

The process

20180128_095105.jpgSo I started this drawing with a basic sketch on paper.

20180128_215853.jpgI used charcoal pencil to detailing the skin texture.

20180129_112309.jpgHalf way done.

IMG_20180129_234332.jpgHere comes the precious horn

IMG_20180129_232852.jpg

The white rhinos consists of two subspecies: the southern white rhinos with an estimated 21000 wild-living animals in the year 2015, and the much rarer northern white rhinos. The northern subspecies had very few remaining, with only three confirmed individuals left in 2017 (two females and one male), all in captivity.

Rhino poaching has escalated in recent years and is being driven by the demand for rhino horn in asian countries, particularly Vietnam. It is used in Traditional Medicine but more and more commonly now it is used as a status symbol to display someone’s success and wealth.

There’s no reason to celebrate: 1,028 rhinos killed in South Africa alone during 2017 works out nearly three rhinos being killed every day.

DQmbxcuFBMF7MgHuvXLbK85MbqHvTBqaXdZ9X8ut2vXJQ1R.png
DQmSXWm6dYUdWHCZxdA62ADXm3hfiocAKKjnvbd17iJr56C_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

I like! The author is talent

Attention to detail in this is great <3

What a talent you have here. Sometimes I amazed by how talented some of you humans are, to be honest. Quite remarkable.

The Master (@markangeltrueman) sent me over to congratulate you on the curie upvote. He was happy to see that you received it.

I will be re-steeming this amazing post on the @steemsearch blog as well as giving it my seal of approval

Regards

The Curator

CuratorSealOfApproval.png

Wow! I don't expect this when I started to draw this two days ago. Really appreciate it.Thanks you

I love your work ! i also love the charcoal medium! i like drawing too , and animals! are so different and fun to draw isn it? Please continue posting!

Amazing detail... its a mindblown that you managed to capture the tiniest texture of its skin... how long did you spend your time to get it done bro?

Thanks @sireh. It's a two days work probably took 12 hours to get it done

I'm learning black and grey with watercolor right now. And it's not easy for me. I do color mostly. But it's time to work on that. Lately I get asked to do black and grey tattoo. And I'm just not up to par with it. But I'm waaay better tattooing then painting black and grey. Lol. So weird How different mediums can make it difficult to do something that was easier on another medium.
Love your art work! high five

When I started to learn charcoal drawings, took me 6 months to understand the medium and couple years to master it and I still exploring what this black, white and grey color can do. Just be patient with what you leaning now and stay focus. Thanks for appreciating my art work.

pawer bohh..sudah kena makan umpan..two thumbs up and standing ovation..

Alhamdulillah. Tq for ur support bro

bereh..sapot menyapot amalan mulia.. :))

Wow, first I see, I think this is the result of taking a photo with the camera, it turns out this very detailed painting, I like to see it.

Terima kasih @arsepta06. Salam perkenalan.

LOVE this. And amazing to see work in progress shots! Keep them coming. You're very talented.

Tq @yasminep. Seem u have a interesting blog. Following u now

Wow this is incredible! All those details you captured are really stunning - I love the strong contrast and deep blacks you achieved! You are extremely talented! Voted and following - looking forward to seeing more!

Thanks @j-vo. Really appreciate it. Definitely u will see more

Your charcoal skills are so excellent bro..👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61745.50
ETH 2898.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61