Goodbye Beta, Hello Thailand?

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

All things Steem inside today as there has been lots of news recently, I've #skimmed some of it and here is my take.


1.png
source


Hopefully the subjects will flow but I shall put a heading there too.

Advertising

I'm currently listening to @elipowell talk about what's been happening at Steemit Inc and currently she's discussing advertising revenue. In reply to a question from @pennsif regarding what revenue could look like in 3 months the reply was somewhere in the region of '60000 - 100,000$'.

I'm wondering if the lost focus on steemit.com in 2018 and thus opening the door for some lovely blogging apps has reduced advertising potential?

Saying that, with the cost reductions that have been made in staffing and the tech, this advertising revenue could make a real impact in the amount of STEEM Steemit Inc is programmatically selling each month. If those advertising revenue figures do start to appear, then the goal of stopping this selling could be reached 'by the end of the year'.

No doubt the constant selling pressure isn't helping right now, and Steemit Inc getting their books in order needs to happen for this to stop.

Beta / No more Beta

Another thing a owners of a website seeking six digit sums via advertising revenue should be is 'live' and not in 'beta'. The timing feels decent, and even though I've read more than once that https://steemit.com would 'never' make it out of 'beta', the focus back on the website and the movement towards advertising was a clue this would happen at some point.

Survive --> Thrive

Yes, it's one of the Devs discussing the rewards curve! https://steemit.com/steem/@vandeberg/reward-curve-deep-dive

Oh, that isn't 'thrive' mode? Sorry, my mistake. Anyway, if you want to get in on the formula talk, that will be the blog to do so.

Price!

Action. In the wider markets mainly but it is always worth looking out for posts from @buggedout (especially around market peaks and lows) relating to STEEM price.

https://steemit.com/steem/@buggedout/steem-has-the-bleeding-stopped

We have a System Debt level which has dropped back below 8% and there are strong indications that the Crypto Winter may be over as Bitcoin shoots up to over $8,000 USD. The rest of the Alt-Coin market has started playing catch up and while STEEM still languishes at Rank #60, it IS catching a bid

Catching a bid as in someone might be keen to buy some, I think :)

Community Growth Initiatives

And none more interesting at present than #OCD's 'Operation Slider Delegation'

https://steemit.com/ocd/@ocd/operation-slider-delegation

Delegating to new users and trying to support them isn't a new idea, but it always nice to hear of these initiatives, especially from a high-ranking witness with earnings rolling in a decent clip. The main reason is that if @ocd-witness remain in the top 20 (yes, that's a cue to go vote!) then presumably, Operation Slider Delegation can continue for as long as is doing as planned - users come, learn the ropes (via @steemonboarding), power up, stay for the ride.

When I looked at my previous delegates a month or so ago, I found that even with what I could delegate (50 - 250 SP to almost 20 people at one point), the retention rate or recent activity was excellent.

The biggest issue here could be finding and monitoring how the delegates are progressing - I can help with both, certainly the latter :)

SteemFest

SteemFest 4 announced already to give as many people as possible (including me) the chance to plan/save up for a trip to Thailand!

https://steemit.com/steemfest/@roelandp/save-the-date-steemfest-bangkok-thailand-6-7-8-9-10-november-2019-let-s-go

At the last Steemfest I remember discussing the desire for a warmer SF the next time, and seeing as the event is held in early November, this meant going further south.

If you are thinking about going and have the funds/time to do so, do what @revisesociology has done and book a ticket already:

https://steemit.com/steemfest/@revisesociology/just-booked-my-flight-for-steemfest-4-rip9fvtr

I would love to attend this year, perhaps more than the rest (cause it's going to be warm and i'd plan a longer stay and go see some stuff), but I have to say I'm very doubtful this time. A lot can happen in 6 months though, like even @kevinwong can put out a pro-Steem post in that time :)

https://steemit.com/steem/@kevinwong/feeling-good-about-steem-again-here-s-my-side-of-the-story

I met both Kevin and Karl at Steemfest 3 - It would be sweet to see them again with STEEM at a dollar or 3.


Thanks for checking in

Asher

Sort:  

As you know from my shill post, I am pretty excited about the @ocd-witness activity and from my last post you likely haven't read, I am also interested in the economics posts. It is great to see so many posts coming out of steemit now and entering into the community discussions.

SF3 I would love to do but am unsure becuase of this pesky thing I have, what do they call it... oh yeah.. A family. Well, my daughter can't travel at the moment anyway, and while Poland was possible alone, I would never be forgiven for Thailand. 10 dollar Steem might change my mind ;D

Ha yeah, that pesky family thing doesn't really allow for a Thailand jolly!

Unless ten dollar steem of course :OD

I have this pesky family thing going on too and plan to show up with 4 kids and one of the kid's boyfriends in tow. Starting at zero and somehow manifesting that trip to SE Asia! Come on @meesterboom, you can do it!

Haha, my the sound of it yours are a tiny bit older than mine, I can't get my younger to travel for longer than 15 minutes without going full on screams sweaty berky!

Yes, mine might be older, but travelling with a 4 year old hard head ain't my favourite past time either. And that 'mommy" I want a drink, food, need to pee thing gets old quite easily too! 😂

Haha, I know that one, my other is 6 and pulls the same stuff lol

I hear Temazepam works quite well!

@abh12345 LOL. Yeah, and the fun thing is that in Thailand, you can buy that and other sleeping aids right over the counter! No FDA warnings there!

Well at least it's cheap! ;0)

I did read your shill post and was going to link it with the ocd one above as 'further reading' :)

It is great to see so many posts coming out of steemit now and entering into the community discussions.

Agreed - 1st rule of Steem(it), talk about Steem(it).

The 2nd rule, talk about Steemfest - Yeah a family will make Thailand a little trickier, and 40 cent STEEM. 10$ I shall see you there :)

But I liked beta!!!

Only joking, so glad to see it gone.

Whilst I think the location is awesome there aint a chance in hell I would be allowed out of Europe for a jolly. Lol. The missus has always had a thing about going Thailand way too so its a fat no from me for four!

Can't track you outside Europe? :D

Banking on 5 then!

It must be the tracking thing!

5 will do! Although I woke up this morning to the most awful market ever!

what market? I believe you've forgotten about 2018's market??? LOL. That was definitely more dreadful than now. Unless you're talking about a farmer's market...then I don't know. ;)

Has, we don't talk about 2018s market. Nope, definitely not. It's the only way to survive ;0)

Pssst, did I hear 2018 reds? That could become a new expression in the crypto world btw: "The markets look as red as 2018,"

I've been to Thailand before. It's very nice. Bangkok os a fun and interesting city.
Call me irresponsible, but I would rather hit the beaches, bars and restaurants than a Steem convention.

Posted using Partiko Android

I've been a couple of times too, 20 odd years ago 😱

If there is no reason to be in Bangkok then don't hang around would be my advice too - see you at the beach 😎

Maybe I can set an ultimatum. If steem is above 3 USD, I'll do my November vacation in Bangkok and scehdule in a few days at a beach south of there.

Posted using Partiko Android

People are already planning a beach after Steemfest party trip so... it will be awesome!!! (especially when I find that perfect Thai nanny for the kids lol).

If momentum continues and we have a great crypto summer, the decision to make an extra effort for SF4 is easier! I may need sone drugs to fly that long though!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Gin & Tonic seems to work quite well on long haul flights 😊 I will be needing one of those great crypto summers you speak of!

@abh12345, Keep saving brother and hope that you will successfully attain the SteemFest and more over will going to have more fun than third one. Have a blessed time ahead.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you, I will try to do that.😊

Welcome and good wishes from my side.

nice update, maybe if it's back in the states some day i can do a steem fest (-:

It will be there at some point I suspect - maybe Roelandp is waiting for double digit STEEM for the Vegas Steemfest!

vegas baby … vegas

make it happen bro! would be nice to see you again and you indeed deserve some warm weather as well!

some sponsorship would seem fitting to you mister statistics!

Thanks :) Would be really nice to see you and many more familiar faces under the sun, where my mood is much better!

I was sponsored a lot last year, really lucky and don't expect that again. We shall see :)

Thanks for the shout-out mate. Don't want to get anyones hopes up though! :)

You got a 24.71% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @abh12345! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

I'm putting on my thinking cap, raiding the piggy Bank, digging in the couch for pennies, and a tone of other thrifty metaphors to try and get the funds together for SF4... but alas I don't think this one is to be unless it's a last minute (super cheap) flight, and a booming bull market in the next 6 months to be able to afford it.

Either that or one of the many pie in the sky scenarios I envision I'm my latest ranty post in response to the stinc blog about the 50/50 proposal they've tabled.

Hope you're well m8. It would be great to catch up in Thailand 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94