Red? I only sea blue

in #steem6 years ago

What do you do when the markets are red? Sail out to sea on your inflatable and forget about it all for a few hours.

That's what I was lucky enough to do today anyway. It's an excellent remedy for sure - look at the colour of the water out here, and so peaceful too.

sea.jpg

Red but not dead

Well it doesn't matter what coins you are holding at present, nothing has escaped the rapid decline over the past 7 months or so. To be honest though, I'd rather be holding Steem Power over anything else, and even though the current price is far from the highs in January, I can still distribute rewards out to those people still chipping away and creating content I enjoy.

Today @steemhunt announced their token drop. You can claim one @steemhunt token for each vested Steem Power owned, and I claimed mine earlier today. It's possible that I could have waited and collected a few dozen more, but I got itchy fingers and pressed the button. Who knows how far this token will go, but it's something extra, just for holding Steem Power.

Looking over a few wallets recently, I can see a fair number of vacation posts and delegations out to bots. That's cool I suppose, at least these accounts aren't selling out at the year low. It's not the first, or the second time that the price has looked far away from recent highs, and I think it's worth checking in on accounts that have been here a while, and continually speak positively of the Steem blockchain, if you are in need of a boost.

Although my stake is nothing like the size of some, I have amassed, for me, a decent amount of SP over the past year or so. And I'm certainly not going anywhere right now - this doesn't seem like the right time at all. Tomorrow is the 2 year anniversary of this, my main account. I'll probably write a bit more about the journey tomorrow - the mention was just a heads-up regarding cake-buying :)

Earlier in the year I read content from people wishing for a dollar STEEM again, feeling they had missed the boat. Well people, here's your chance! Personally, I wouldn't clear your bank account today, and would opt for staged buy-ins. If you think Bitcoin will go to $3000, maybe 50 cents a STEEM is a target?

When I was buying STEEM last year, I think I bought on 7/8 different occasions. There was a more obvious uptrend across the market though, and it seemed like a reasonable bet. Right now it feels like buying any crypto would be like catching the proverbial falling knife. (In)Vesting that STEEM though, means you can start using it right away, gaining influence and earning SP (or interest) every day via curation, or delegations.

In 6 weeks time, it will be a year since Smart Media Tokens were announced. Following the early hype, SMT has become synonymous with 'soon', and yeah, it's taking a while for sure. Best to get everything right though before releasing the goods though right? I don't think companies are going to take having 'beta' attached to the reply sections of their websites content!


smt.png
Still rocking the SMT t-shirt :D

When in need of a little SMT boost, I go back to this piece by @donkeypong.

I saw a guy down here who had his laptop on the beach and was upclicking something, so I asked him about it. It turns out he was an early adopter of Steem even before they launched the Smart Media Tokens (SMTs). He had some strange screen name, like a farm animal, but I’ve forgotten what it was. Apparently, he still logs in every day to vote on new content he finds.

Personally I feel that SMT will make or break Steem. The potential is massive though, and I'm sticking around to see what's in store.

See you at the beach, soon not long now!

Cheers

Asher

Sort:  

Geez your water there is really beautiful! Much clearer than here I think! Although I'm not complaining :) Nothing like floating in the ocean to make all of your woes disappear!

Personally I feel that SMT will make or break Steem.

In two simple sentences or less lol, explain that one to me please :)

I could try. But I think @exyle covers the topic exceptionally well in the interview he had with @terrybrock yesterday.

I recommend listening to the lot, but the key section on the potential of SMT starts at 21 minutes. Enjoy!

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrencies/@terrybrock/krym2ew2

Thanks for that Ash! I'll have a listen.

'Earlier in the year I read content from people wishing for a dollar STEEM again, feeling they had missed the boat. Well people, here's your chance!'

My best guess is that 95% of the people who wished that back then, now have another excuse and say it's too uncertain to buy now.

Likely to be the case, now it will be a case of wanting 50c.

Like I mentioned above, SP starts working for you unlike so many other tokens, so this is why I think just avoid the spikes and buy in bits.

I wish I had some fiat for the next couple of months!

Hi Asher. Quite right , not the time to buy in just yet. We will have to wait and see where it ends up. You are the second person now who has mentioned 50 cents the other said the target was between 45 and 50 c so will just carry on as normal. Sticking around is a good idea.

Keeping your name in the minds of people still here and plugging away should put you in good stead for the next rally - that's my thinking anyway :)

I think the market needs a consolidation phase where little happens with regards to price. Sadly I don't have a crystal ball for when this will happen though!

Tomorrow is the 2 year anniversary of this

That's a lot of time mate, you arrived here only a few months after steem was ready to use then, I bet you have live through a lot of history around here.

I'll talk about it a bit more tomorrow - I have a gap after signup and missed the dark ages, thankfully!

Summer has disappeared, temporarily I hope, and I haven't been to the beach since Thursday. Just as the water was getting less frigid too. 😂

I have finally bitten the bullet and started buying, a bit everyday, but now I've run out of the Bitcoin that I bought earlier in the year and sat on because I lost my nerve.

I was waiting for Bitcoin to go below $6,000 so I could buy a bit more and now I don't know what to do. I've gotten into the buying habit. 😲

Glad your'e enjoying yourself relaxing. Didn't you say you were job hunting?!!! 😱

I'm feeling a bit miffed that you've offered the pink lilo to @tomlegion . That had my name all over it. 😭

I really hope this is the right time to start adding. A bit at a time is the safest.

Job hunting - well I've logged on to Linked-In if that counts! Perhaps a local job at a bar would be better.

First come first served on the pink Li-lo Gillian!

A bit at a time is the safest.

Yeah. In retrospect I should have added smaller amounts I think @abh12345 but isn't that always the case? I started buying at the start of the dip but it keeps on going.

Hopefully, one day, what I've bought will look ridiculously cheap.

A local job at a bar sounds good, especially if you could get one in an area where there are more locals. That way you might get to meet some new people who are likely to be around a bit longer than the tourists.

Summer seems to be taking a dip here, hopefully it's not over. I've not been to the beach for five days! 😢

I can't complain though, it's been wonderful. 😊

Yes it is always the case - you have to be the oracle, or one lucky bugger to time trades perfectly.

As long as the buys are small and you are not spending food money I would not worry. Your votes are getting bigger = more curation rewards sooner rather than later, and hopefully one of these buys will be around the low for the year - that will be a satisfying one :)

hopefully one of these buys will be around the low for the year - that will be a satisfying one

That is what I'm counting on @abh12345.

I haven't paid attention to curation rewards since my Steem Power was too lower. Now I'm building it do you think it might be worth focussing on it a bit or are we still talking very tiny amounts?

Or, better still, at what SP do you think it's worth paying attention?

Ta! 😊

Well you are coming up to 2k SP, so it is worth paying a bit more attention I guess. If you have authors you regularly want to support then your curation rewards will likely increase if you use something like steemauto.com to schedule a vote in the first 20 minutes or so.

In the last 7 days you got .66 SP via curation rewards, i think you could double that with some timed voting.

OK. Thanks Asher. It's useful to know the numbers and food for thought.

I didn't know it was good to vote in the first twenty minutes. I thought it was better at 28+ to 30.

But as I say I've just been voting when I've seen the posts which sometimes might be a day later. 😱

I thought it was better at 28+ to 30.

Depends on the author/post value. Best to get in earlier on posts that have a good payout.

The 20/30 cent posts you can go for 25-30 on. A day later than creation will likely mean few people are voting after you - not great for curation rewards :)

I'm watching green, but just because I'm walking every day between the trees close to a little river ;)
Thanks for the info about the hunt token, I'll do it!

Glad to help with the hunt tokens!

A green forest is a very good alternative to the sea, I hope the summer is enjoyable for you both 😊

Just think Asher what you will be able to do with all the accumulated STEEM in 6 months time, I mean what will you need, will you be able to upgrade to an inflatable flamingo or a unicorn perhaps!?
I'm hoping we are at the bottom now at 0.89c - I wish something/anything had broken the link - in the sense that the market is dominated by bitcoins swings!

Certainly seems STEEM and the rest are following BTC.

The goal here for me is to have enough vSP to not need to produce so many blogs, the dapps could be the SP holders supporting this content. We should be able to work our SP around SMT and sit back and relax 😎

Now that is a nice idea... :)

Will be looking forward to reading a bit more of your journey uptill now on your two year anniversary post.

BTW, Congrats man!

Thanks man, hopefully I can make it interesting!

Right now it feels like buying any crypto would be like catching the proverbial falling knife. (In)Vesting that STEEM though, means you can start using it right away, gaining influence and earning SP (or interest) every day via curation, or delegations.
The advantage of steem is that even though the prices are low we can still make more due to our stakes.

Exactly! Even if you make a complete mess of your buy-in, the new vested Steem Power can help you recover :)

Great post. It’s hard not to get a little down on all of this. I feel like I’ve worked so hard to build a following and garner a bit of support, just to see half of those people jump ship. That’s a bit disheartning do in moments like that...when I’m down in the dumps, I’ll take a mini mental vacation to the cool blue waters in your pic above. Calming and reassuring...telling me all will be right in time.

I live in hope, and looking at history (which usually dictates the future), I think we will be good.

The time to buy could be close 😊

Good outlook to have. I need to think more positive. Not just in crypto but I’m overall everyday life. Been in a bit of a rut lately and feel as though imma glass half empty person which I kinda detest. Gotta get myself right and start taking a more positive approach.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11